We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over hyped place...”

Seven Seafood & Grill
Ranked #34 of 565 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, African, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Already considered to be Nairobi's premier steak and seafood destinations, Seven's distinctive and innovatively designed restaurants offer a sumptuous selection of the finest Indian Ocean seafood and the finest cuts of locally produced beef aged on site in a glass, humidity controlled meat rooms. A mouth-watering array of oysters, lobsters, prawns and ocean fish are delivered daily, freshly prepared and accompanied by Seven's signature sauces. Meat lovers are well catered for, with exclusive, hand-selected cuts of Kenya's finest beef that have been carefully aged and butchered in house. Reviewed as the best in town, indulge in one of Seven's decadent desserts to complete Nairobi's most unique dining experiences.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over hyped place...”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice ambience, but the signature sauce which comes with so much of the food is somewhat overbearing, as its based on smoked paprika. The fish was nice, but the examples lying on ice were really past their sale by date. Overall we were disappointed, we went there as it had so many excellent reviews, but it just didn't live up to its reputation!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xoolaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    124
    36
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nairobi is very well served with a variety of really good restaurants offering virtually every type of international cuisine.
the Seven is an outstanding establishment specialising in sea food. They offer a wide variety of fresh water and sea fish cooked to perfection as well as lobster prawns and crab beaytifully cooked prepared and presented.
There is a reasonable wine list
Service is excellent, the ambience is good and parking and security, p-roblems in Nairobi, are good.
Seven is expensive by Nairobi standards which means it does it is rather less than London and New York.
Well worth a visit for lunch or dinner
My family and I visit often and have never been disappointed

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After our hotel fail to recommend anywhere to eat we went with trip advisor and tried here. It wasn't what I was expecting, it's sort of on a little shopping mall/estate but it was very nice.

We had drinks next door as the restaurant was pretty empty (it did fill up a little but not much).

Choices were good and the food was nice, prices were resonable.

all in all a nice meal in a nice setting

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seventh Heaven?Not.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Average restaurant in terms of food – stick to the seafood, meats/duck are to fatty, the wrong cut.
Waiter messed up our dessert order, no apology, used my fellow diner’s cutlery to put out the candle on the fondue and returned it back to her to continue eating with!!!
Continuous charade of “happy birthday” belted out throughout the dinner (for times in one seating)
Chef did visit the table though – that was nice. Wine selection, pretty comprehensive by glass and bottle.
Service, average, plenty of waiters around, but I think lacks supervision/management presence.
NOT a fine dining restaurant, more a pricy casual dining restaurant.
Luckily for it, its in an extremely good location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RHSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ambience great but not impressed with the menu offerings. Am sure you could do much more. However food that is served is of good quality and presentation. Just work on your menu

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Desgomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seafood & Grill also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Seven Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing