We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 282 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here twice in April 2014 and found the staff friendly and enjoyed the inclusive morning breakfast. First time I had a room on the 1st floor near the patio where wash was hung to dry. That room was comfortable, but no view and had windows that didn't latch completely. The next time, i took a room on the 2nd floor and one facing the roadside; even though other reviews claimed it too be a bit noisier, i didn't feel that was an issue. The room was clean and comfortable w/ a workable fan and bed w/ mosquito netting. I felt that my belongings were safe and there is a safe deposit at the front desk for added security (which i never used). The Kahama is centrally located and within walking distance to the museum. Note - do NOT walk around at night - take a taxi everywhere as there have been several documented armed robberies for the foolish bravehearts. It's a shame that due to recent terrorist threats from Somalia, many warnings have driven the tourists out - this hurts the many good people of kenya who are hard working, decent people. Once out in the safari parks, all is quiet and calm though. If u choose to go to Nairobi as a jumping off point to other spots, be guided by common sense and not fear - the country has much to offer. And if you're looking for basic, clean, affordable accommodation in the heart of the city, then i would recommend checking out the kahama hotel.

Room Tip: Liked the 2nd floor better than the 1st floor and i didn't find the street noise to be bothersom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you so much for the review. Our core responsibility is to offer the best service at affordable price and we shall endeavour to give the same. We appreciate the confidence you have in us and promise to be at your service any time in kenya particularly in Nairobi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Im a regular client in to this Hotel,Rooms are fab,Breakfast has good variety,Staffs are excellent,I like the car wash service and the Locations proximity to town where you could just walk to town rather than having to drive.Will definitely use this Hotel when in Nairobi

Room Tip: The Rooms are sort of sound proof so doesnt really matter which room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank roadmapnairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your review about us on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to hosting next time you will be in nairobi-Kenya.
From the Kahama members we all wish you the very best in your endeavours.
Asante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at Kahama for 3 nights and was very happy. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff very, very friendly. The restaurant was good and the breakfast was one of the best, I had in Kenya. There are always taxis available, but museum and Central Business District are in walking distance. Just be careful when you walk near the bridge - I got my necklace snachted in the middle of the day.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back and didnt hear any noise from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind and honest opinion. We were delighted having you as our guest at Kahama Hotel Nairobi. We look forward to hosting you again any time in future when you will be in Nairobi.
Asante
Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The location of the hotel is nice, walking distance from the city center and the museum. The restaurant was nice and so was the food at reasonable prices. The room was nice and so were the beds. Wifi worked well in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Jambo Nomade123,

Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel.

Your sentiments will go a long way in helping us improve the service and the entire hotel.
Our desire is to host you and many of your friends as and when you are in Nairobi.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Kahama Hotel is an excellent choice for visiting Nairobi and at really good value too compared to other places. The rooms are very nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Breakfast was outstanding and so was the other food we tried. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The location is very safe and convenient very close to the city center. All we could have asked for while staying in Nairobi! We felt very welcome and comfortable here.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank MelE034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Though not ideally situated (surroundings, vincinity of a heavily jammed and all-day noisy roundabout), this hotel offers all the guarantees of comfort one might expect for a short stay in Nairobi: good value, good restaurant, wifi, breakfast, taxi service and, mostly appreciated, a great staff (hotel and restaurant) always smiling and ready to help.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the roudabout shall preferably be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very happy with it, although it wasn't quite "budget", I'd say more "midrange" but I guess Nairobi is expensive. Breakfast was good, the wifi was fast (but only worked in the reception area) and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good - short walk to the centre of town during the day.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#9 of 168 in Nairobi
513 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#102 of 168 in Nairobi
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Greton
#105 of 168 in Nairobi
12 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 168 in Nairobi
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: $28 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing