We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value and location for the money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #7 of 235 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and location for the money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here twice in April 2014 and found the staff friendly and enjoyed the inclusive morning breakfast. First time I had a room on the 1st floor near the patio where wash was hung to dry. That room was comfortable, but no view and had windows that didn't latch completely. The next time, i took a room on the 2nd floor and one facing the roadside; even though other reviews claimed it too be a bit noisier, i didn't feel that was an issue. The room was clean and comfortable w/ a workable fan and bed w/ mosquito netting. I felt that my belongings were safe and there is a safe deposit at the front desk for added security (which i never used). The Kahama is centrally located and within walking distance to the museum. Note - do NOT walk around at night - take a taxi everywhere as there have been several documented armed robberies for the foolish bravehearts. It's a shame that due to recent terrorist threats from Somalia, many warnings have driven the tourists out - this hurts the many good people of kenya who are hard working, decent people. Once out in the safari parks, all is quiet and calm though. If u choose to go to Nairobi as a jumping off point to other spots, be guided by common sense and not fear - the country has much to offer. And if you're looking for basic, clean, affordable accommodation in the heart of the city, then i would recommend checking out the kahama hotel.

Room Tip: Liked the 2nd floor better than the 1st floor and i didn't find the street noise to be bothersom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. Our core responsibility is to offer the best service at affordable price and we shall endeavour to give the same. We appreciate the confidence you have in us and promise to be at your service any time in kenya particularly in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    58
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
46
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Im a regular client in to this Hotel,Rooms are fab,Breakfast has good variety,Staffs are excellent,I like the car wash service and the Locations proximity to town where you could just walk to town rather than having to drive.Will definitely use this Hotel when in Nairobi

Room Tip: The Rooms are sort of sound proof so doesnt really matter which room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank roadmapnairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review about us on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to hosting next time you will be in nairobi-Kenya.
From the Kahama members we all wish you the very best in your endeavours.
Asante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at Kahama for 3 nights and was very happy. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff very, very friendly. The restaurant was good and the breakfast was one of the best, I had in Kenya. There are always taxis available, but museum and Central Business District are in walking distance. Just be careful when you walk near the bridge - I got my necklace snachted in the middle of the day.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back and didnt hear any noise from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind and honest opinion. We were delighted having you as our guest at Kahama Hotel Nairobi. We look forward to hosting you again any time in future when you will be in Nairobi.
Asante
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The location of the hotel is nice, walking distance from the city center and the museum. The restaurant was nice and so was the food at reasonable prices. The room was nice and so were the beds. Wifi worked well in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Jambo Nomade123,

Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel.

Your sentiments will go a long way in helping us improve the service and the entire hotel.
Our desire is to host you and many of your friends as and when you are in Nairobi.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The Kahama Hotel is an excellent choice for visiting Nairobi and at really good value too compared to other places. The rooms are very nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Breakfast was outstanding and so was the other food we tried. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The location is very safe and convenient very close to the city center. All we could have asked for while staying in Nairobi! We felt very welcome and comfortable here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MelE034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Though not ideally situated (surroundings, vincinity of a heavily jammed and all-day noisy roundabout), this hotel offers all the guarantees of comfort one might expect for a short stay in Nairobi: good value, good restaurant, wifi, breakfast, taxi service and, mostly appreciated, a great staff (hotel and restaurant) always smiling and ready to help.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the roudabout shall preferably be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very happy with it, although it wasn't quite "budget", I'd say more "midrange" but I guess Nairobi is expensive. Breakfast was good, the wifi was fast (but only worked in the reception area) and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good - short walk to the centre of town during the day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#66 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#112 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#88 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Property: Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing