We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic hotel, very good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #6 of 220 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, very good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The Kahama Hotel is an excellent choice for visiting Nairobi and at really good value too compared to other places. The rooms are very nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Breakfast was outstanding and so was the other food we tried. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The location is very safe and convenient very close to the city center. All we could have asked for while staying in Nairobi! We felt very welcome and comfortable here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MelE034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
43
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Though not ideally situated (surroundings, vincinity of a heavily jammed and all-day noisy roundabout), this hotel offers all the guarantees of comfort one might expect for a short stay in Nairobi: good value, good restaurant, wifi, breakfast, taxi service and, mostly appreciated, a great staff (hotel and restaurant) always smiling and ready to help.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the roudabout shall preferably be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very happy with it, although it wasn't quite "budget", I'd say more "midrange" but I guess Nairobi is expensive. Breakfast was good, the wifi was fast (but only worked in the reception area) and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good - short walk to the centre of town during the day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Even though we just stayed a few nights at the Kahama hotel, I only have positive feedback to give! The frontdesk was really friendly, the driver that the hotel fixed for us was really professional and I would like to give a special thank to the guys in the restaurant/bar! :) You guys rock! Gonna come and visit you when I get back to Nairobi! :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We were greatly honoured to have you as one of our valued guests. Hope to host you next time in Nairobi.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We would not recommend even for a stop over of 1 day as we did.
No air-conditioning and bathroom very small and old. This despite we paid more to get "luxury" comfort room. By the way no lift and we were on 3rd floor. No hairdryer in the room and no possibility to have it!!!! and even get an extra towel is a problem.....
Reception very slow in answering/helping on any request. I had to ask 10 times and wait a day even to get a receipt.
Location is close to center but you always need to a taxi to move as it is in an area plenty of pickpockets. If you walk it is at your own risk.
On the positive side I can only mention:
Decent breakfast and food in the hotel for a brunch. Taxi drivers are always available in the parking lot of the hotel. if you ask a room on the rear side you at least get no noise from the street while you sleep (but it really depends which side of the hotel your room is).

Room Tip: ask rear side rooms - at least you get much less noise from the traffic as the hotel is located near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Kahama is a great little hotel in the heart of Nairobi. We spent two nights there and were impressed by the quality of the room and the friendly service. The breakfasts (included in the room price) were tasty and generous. We had dinner at the hotel on both nights and enjoyed good food on both occasions. We were warned to request a room on the side of the hotel away from the busy highway which we did, and found this to be very quiet. The hotel decor is very welcoming, too. I would highly recommend this little oasis in the chaotic city of Nairobi.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back on the other side of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great hotel, cheap prices, slightly noisy but not too much. The rooms are clean, confortable, with TV and clean bathrooms. The food is good. There is a restaurant and a bar downstair. Friendly staff. Only critic : I was on the second floor and the internet network was not good in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shougie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#60 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#80 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Property: Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing