We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 260 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is amazingly quiet and comfortable despite the heavy vehicular traffic just right at the doorstep. We were able to prepare our own coffee in our room and this greatly increased our feeling of privacy. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The only let-down was the absence of bacon at the breakfast table, but that's a small matter. If you want a relaxed place in the city to just rest and sleep without stress, this is it.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank iLaw O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
48
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was the second time I stayed in the newly renamed Kahama Hotel (previously Kenya International). The service is fine, the staff ('team players') courteous and the rates reasonable compared to the 'big' hotels in Nairobi. While no luxurious place, the hotel provides all the basics and its location is not far from the embassy district which was the aim of my stay. I can highly recommend the hotel to other people coming to Nairobi mainly for business purposes.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which is not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svend K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

To get there is a bit tricky with the current road / bypass construction and to be completely honest the hotel does look a bit tired from the outside. However once you arrive to the reception desk things change drastically.

A proffesional, polite and efficient welcome, swift check inn and very helpfull staff make the transition from bussling capital traffic and commotion into a nice relaxed athmosphere.

The price you pay is very economical, however the rooms are equiped with more than you would expect for such a small price. Nice rooms, good beds, all ammeneties needed for a nice good night sleep in Nairobi.

I have to stress that it is a budget hotel however the service you get and followup from the reception staff is simply put refreshing and puts most expensive city hotels to shame.

Keep it up Kahama!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Overall a good place to stay. Ongoing road construction has made accessing the hotel rather difficult and unsafe as there is only one entry and exit. One wonders what would happen in case of an emergency.

Service is good, food is OK and staff offer warm welcome. Improve on food ala carte portions. Provide mosquito repellent chips or spray. Also, provide a room safe to store valuables even if at a fee.

Room Tip: Check the the room assigned as they vary in size and TV position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We left some baggage with the front desk while we took a safari. When we returned, our bag had been opened and some items stolen. Despite the sign on the front desk claiming that the hotel would only take responsibility for items left with them (and the fact that under Kenyan law they are legally obliged to), management refused to help in any way. In fact they ever asked us to pay the left luggage fee!

After staying in many hotels in Kenya, this is the only theft we had. The worse part was the total indifference by the staff and their 'couldn't care less attitude'.

Incidentally the ongoing construction with the new Nairobi/Thika road makes it very noisy.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
467 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#90 of 164 in Nairobi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#61 of 164 in Nairobi
209 reviews
Progressive Park Hotel
#37 of 164 in Nairobi
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Property: Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing