We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience! !!!!”
Review of Rolf's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rolf's Place
Ranked #135 of 255 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience! !!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Well, thought to have my birthday lunch at Rolfs Place we call to book we are told they are free so we walk in.

We ask for a table for two, we are told they don't have space we ask to sit on a free table we are told that the table only sits five.

We ask for a coke we are told they only have stony ... really?

Our take~ place looks unkempt, waiters are unprofessional, rude & can hardly communicate in English.

Bottomline ~ the drive isn't worth it ...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank WanjikuWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    7
    12
    9
See reviews for
14
9
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights at this place and it was wonderful. The room was big enough and the bathroom size was lovely only downside for the bathroom it's getting old and needs to get some face lift. No hot water bottles in the room at night and the place gets cold. Meals are good and they offer variety We loved their salads,breakfast and pepper steak. Service in the restaurant is impeccable and staff always willing to go an extra mile to offer personalized service. Thank you all and will surely be back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKN722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nbo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just came back from having Lunch at Rolfs Place. We are from nairobi. But my whole Family got a stomach ache. The Place is Beautiful we recommend only got for a Coffee to enjoy the lovely View. Service was Not good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaganbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Almere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was a nice surprise arriving in the evening at Rolfs Place: walking with our luggage at the suspension bridge! We arrived late, but that was no problem at all. We really felt welcome. We booked half board, and the table was waiting for us. We could choose everything from the menu and they didn't rush us, we had a nice dinner with good wine!
In the morning we enjoyed the view over the Nairobi National Park, wauw, what a great place!! Having breakfast at the terrace is a good way to start your day! The staff is really friendly and helpful. Everything is nicely decorated, nice garden and pool and the rooms are clean and neat (although the bathrooms are a bit oldfashioned).
The owner just passed away, but business went on. We really hope they can go on with Rolf's dream! Thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna-deW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The access to Rolf's place is a spectacular rope bridge over the gorge that this venue oversees. Amazing views over the Gorge and out over Nairobi National Game Park. The decor is unique as is the friendly personal service by Rolf. The choice of food was unusual but very tempting, and cooked fresh to order. Breakfast on the balcony over the Gorge is unmissable, with birdsong and cool breeze. Hearing the Lions and other park Animals at night was an added bonus. Not the cheapest, but positively my best African experience to date. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

the views from this place are lovely when you are sitting in the dinning room, unfortunatley the rooms are not as great but they are adequate. the food was lovely and we enjoyed our stay there. it had a great feel of being well out of nairobi without having to go too far. this place is a little pricey but it is a nice romantic weekend getaway. if you are staying there it is cheaper to get a room rate including dinner rather than pay for dinner seperatley! from the base room rate of 12,000 you pay 2000 more for a 3 course dinner for two, the prices on the menu are much higher. enjoyed it would go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodislovenairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went for a romantic weekend, ended up meeting with a bunch of friends who'd gone for an evening drink. We ended up having a huge dinner of about 10 people late into the night.

Rolf's son - Adam and his girlfriend went out of their way to make us have a special evening despite the additional pax not being residents at the accomodation side that night.

The waiters were good and one even gave us his cellphone to listen to music! The room steward - shiro was professional and paid attention to our needs especially when the bathroom got too wet from the showers.

The entrance views are Awesome but a bit diappointing as you cannot see them very well from the rooms or when seated.

Food - good portion but pricey and this is one area they can improve on.

Room Tip: the lower rooms have better views, are quieter but no bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4by4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#139 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nyati Hill Cottages
Nyati Hill Cottages
#17 of 255 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.3 mi away
Savannah Garden Resort
Savannah Garden Resort
#102 of 255 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Longview Suites
Longview Suites
#59 of 255 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#10 of 255 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 197 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolf's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolf's Place

Property: Rolf's Place
Address: Maasai Lodge Road, Nairobi 24380, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rolf`s Place Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing