We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience! !!!!”
Review of Rolf's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rolf's Place
Ranked #140 of 282 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Well, thought to have my birthday lunch at Rolfs Place we call to book we are told they are free so we walk in.

We ask for a table for two, we are told they don't have space we ask to sit on a free table we are told that the table only sits five.

We ask for a coke we are told they only have stony ... really?

Our take~ place looks unkempt, waiters are unprofessional, rude & can hardly communicate in English.

Bottomline ~ the drive isn't worth it ...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank WanjikuWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights at this place and it was wonderful. The room was big enough and the bathroom size was lovely only downside for the bathroom it's getting old and needs to get some face lift. No hot water bottles in the room at night and the place gets cold. Meals are good and they offer variety We loved their salads,breakfast and pepper steak. Service in the restaurant is impeccable and staff always willing to go an extra mile to offer personalized service. Thank you all and will surely be back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKN722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just came back from having Lunch at Rolfs Place. We are from nairobi. But my whole Family got a stomach ache. The Place is Beautiful we recommend only got for a Coffee to enjoy the lovely View. Service was Not good

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaganbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was a nice surprise arriving in the evening at Rolfs Place: walking with our luggage at the suspension bridge! We arrived late, but that was no problem at all. We really felt welcome. We booked half board, and the table was waiting for us. We could choose everything from the menu and they didn't rush us, we had a nice dinner with good wine!
In the morning we enjoyed the view over the Nairobi National Park, wauw, what a great place!! Having breakfast at the terrace is a good way to start your day! The staff is really friendly and helpful. Everything is nicely decorated, nice garden and pool and the rooms are clean and neat (although the bathrooms are a bit oldfashioned).
The owner just passed away, but business went on. We really hope they can go on with Rolf's dream! Thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna-deW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The access to Rolf's place is a spectacular rope bridge over the gorge that this venue oversees. Amazing views over the Gorge and out over Nairobi National Game Park. The decor is unique as is the friendly personal service by Rolf. The choice of food was unusual but very tempting, and cooked fresh to order. Breakfast on the balcony over the Gorge is unmissable, with birdsong and cool breeze. Hearing the Lions and other park Animals at night was an added bonus. Not the cheapest, but positively my best African experience to date. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

the views from this place are lovely when you are sitting in the dinning room, unfortunatley the rooms are not as great but they are adequate. the food was lovely and we enjoyed our stay there. it had a great feel of being well out of nairobi without having to go too far. this place is a little pricey but it is a nice romantic weekend getaway. if you are staying there it is cheaper to get a room rate including dinner rather than pay for dinner seperatley! from the base room rate of 12,000 you pay 2000 more for a 3 course dinner for two, the prices on the menu are much higher. enjoyed it would go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodislovenairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went for a romantic weekend, ended up meeting with a bunch of friends who'd gone for an evening drink. We ended up having a huge dinner of about 10 people late into the night.

Rolf's son - Adam and his girlfriend went out of their way to make us have a special evening despite the additional pax not being residents at the accomodation side that night.

The waiters were good and one even gave us his cellphone to listen to music! The room steward - shiro was professional and paid attention to our needs especially when the bathroom got too wet from the showers.

The entrance views are Awesome but a bit diappointing as you cannot see them very well from the rooms or when seated.

Food - good portion but pricey and this is one area they can improve on.

Room Tip: the lower rooms have better views, are quieter but no bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4by4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 168 in Nairobi
666 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 168 in Nairobi
1,296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nyati Hill Cottages
Nyati Hill Cottages
#22 of 282 in Nairobi
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Osoita Lodge
Osoita Lodge
#68 of 219 in Nairobi
53 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#2 of 219 in Nairobi
130 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#9 of 282 in Nairobi
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolf's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolf's Place

Address: Maasai Lodge Road, Nairobi 24380, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rolf`s Place Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing