We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A True African Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rolf's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rolf's Place
Ranked #104 of 237 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reading
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A True African Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The access to Rolf's place is a spectacular rope bridge over the gorge that this venue oversees. Amazing views over the Gorge and out over Nairobi National Game Park. The decor is unique as is the friendly personal service by Rolf. The choice of food was unusual but very tempting, and cooked fresh to order. Breakfast on the balcony over the Gorge is unmissable, with birdsong and cool breeze. Hearing the Lions and other park Animals at night was an added bonus. Not the cheapest, but positively my best African experience to date. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
8
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

the views from this place are lovely when you are sitting in the dinning room, unfortunatley the rooms are not as great but they are adequate. the food was lovely and we enjoyed our stay there. it had a great feel of being well out of nairobi without having to go too far. this place is a little pricey but it is a nice romantic weekend getaway. if you are staying there it is cheaper to get a room rate including dinner rather than pay for dinner seperatley! from the base room rate of 12,000 you pay 2000 more for a 3 course dinner for two, the prices on the menu are much higher. enjoyed it would go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodislovenairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went for a romantic weekend, ended up meeting with a bunch of friends who'd gone for an evening drink. We ended up having a huge dinner of about 10 people late into the night.

Rolf's son - Adam and his girlfriend went out of their way to make us have a special evening despite the additional pax not being residents at the accomodation side that night.

The waiters were good and one even gave us his cellphone to listen to music! The room steward - shiro was professional and paid attention to our needs especially when the bathroom got too wet from the showers.

The entrance views are Awesome but a bit diappointing as you cannot see them very well from the rooms or when seated.

Food - good portion but pricey and this is one area they can improve on.

Room Tip: the lower rooms have better views, are quieter but no bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4by4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Our Favourite retreat just outside Nairobi, in close proximity to the National Park, and a spectacular view of it. A bit pricy, but room 1 is definitely worth every penny, and also the food is marvellous.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Rolf's Place is unique. The staff provide a caring and personalised service which just adds to the magnificent location and the boutique nature of this wonderful place. After busy working days in the heart of Narobi, this is a sanctuary to return to overlooking the National Park. Rolf is an accomplished chef and evenings can be spent hanging over a gorge on his charming terrace eating from an a la carte menu which caters for many tastes and reflects Rolf's diverse culinary skills. This place is a true gem and reflects the passions of its owner and staff for genuine hospitality on a human scale.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here 2 weeks and the staff were wonderful. very friendly and waiting on your every wish. the food is also very good. much of the produce is grown on the property - the milk, eggs, fish, and vegetables are all freshly picked on site. The accommodation has lots of character and luxurious. And the great thing I loved is the quietness in the morning to hear the birds. You can hear hyenas and lions at night. I Couldn't believe we could stay on the edge of a national park so close to Nairobi. I have no hesitation recommending Rolf's Place for meals and accomodation.

Room Tip: choose the corner rooms at the end of the corridor with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_miau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Rolf's place is definitely a place worth visiting a couple of my friends and i went there over the weekend for paintballing and we had the time of our lives. The view is out of this world, the shooting was lots of fun and for the food, those who went for ala carte menu enjoyed finger licking meals and the rest had the best nyama choma in this town at a sitting by the pool. The waiters were very friendly and the service was great.
Thanks Rolf, sarah and the team...that was a true adventure"

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#140 of 162 in Nairobi
2.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nyati Hill Cottages
Nyati Hill Cottages
#22 of 237 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Osoita Lodge
Osoita Lodge
#50 of 191 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#11 of 237 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 191 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolf's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolf's Place

Property: Rolf's Place
Address: Maasai Lodge Road, Nairobi 24380, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rolf`s Place Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing