We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Italian in Nairobi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Salumeria

La Salumeria
Ranked #62 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Pastas are super al dente, pizzas are nicely done, even the deserts are fabulous. Go for the meat ravioli with Gorgonzola sauce. Definitely make a reservation before hand.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    37
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rustic Cosy Atmosphere Fine Food and Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This restaurant is one of the older established restaurants in Nairobi.
It is at the rear of Valley Arcade a good location to meet and eat!

The Italian Parma Ham and Melon starter is huge and delicious. Caprese with Mozzarella de Buffalo fabulous.

Mushroom Ravioli is a must and the Pizza's are thin and very tasty, all finished with fresh Parmesan if you prefer, wine good and sometimes Grappa on the house to finish…
Gets busy, best to book on Thur/Fri/Sat evenings: 020 387 5226.
Worth a visit - the owner is passionate and always in attendance. Unless it is closed (AUG) for his annual vacation in Italy!!
Enjoy .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichola618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Italian in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The homemade ravioli, the thin pizzas, the gorgeous (when available) tagliatta... we love it! Even though the manager/owner could be less grumpy...:) this is our favorite restaurant in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lineke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Irked...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was invited by a couple who have been going to this restaurant for years.Both my wife and myself ordered the grilled fish.The three meals arrived and my friends/wife politely waited for my meal to be served.After 10 minutes I insisted they go ahead as their meal was getting cold.It a good thing as my meal arrived just as they were finishing up..When questioned our waitress did admit that she had only put in an order for one fish,thus the delay.This is not what I expected from a restaurant with such great reviews.What irked me was we received no apology from the management who went ahead and charged for the meal anyway.Very disappointing after much anticipation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GNF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ostrich sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wow, first time I had ostrich meat and it was good. I was a bit afraid of what I was having, but I figured it is just a big turkey. Meat was very tender and tasted wonderful

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucille3529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salumeria also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to La Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing