We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cozy gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Salumeria

La Salumeria
Dhajay Apartments-Valley Arcade | Valley arcade Shopping Centre, Nairobi, Kenya
20 3875226
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Well located, with a great ambience. Cozy gem that is underrated in the Nairobi dining scene. Great selection on the menu. Good service. It's a bit of a tight squeeze on a good day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheDouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value, homemade pasta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I really like this place and think it has the best value Italian food in Nairobi. I think La Dolce Vita has the best Italian food in Nairobi, but this is cheaper and more conveniently located if you're not staying/living in Gigiri/Runda.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
“Excellent food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Its the one place i will have a great meal with friends and clients alike.Its tucked away in Valley Arcade and the quality of the food is superb. I highly recommend it. Honestly, i am always at this restaurant :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average Fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Tucked behind Valley Arcade you need to let the askari know where you are going before he will let you in. Ordered two pizzas for a quick business lunch. On my vegetarian the artichokes were still cold which was disappointing.

The decor and outside seating are nice.

Service was okay but we had to ask for drinks more than once.

Maybe it was an off day, but there are better places for pizza around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SlammerKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I just had dinner there, and it was really good. The spaghetti were really al dente and the Tiramisu was delicious. Excellent place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cateecatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salumeria also viewed

 

Been to La Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing