We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our favourite Italian place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Salumeria

La Salumeria
Ranked #70 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our favourite Italian place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Close by our offices so we are probably a wee bit biased but friendly and inexpensive - always good food. We are here at least twice a month...

Helpful?
Thank Mzeenini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service/attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We made reservations and went for Valentine's day. We were early diners, yet even though the restaurant was nearly empty, we were ushered to a table next to the only toddler in the place. We asked for a table on the patio but were refused with the answer they were "full". When we left an hour and a half later, there were still many empty tables. Only one choice of wine by the glass. The food was good, but the service was poor. Agree with the previous comments about the owner/manager. We won't be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZolaPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
168 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Have visited this restaurant many times and generally the food is good but service and attention very mixed.......

Helpful?
Thank hmf5863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HYPED UP FOR NOTHING”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I made a reservation to surprise my hubby for a night out, because i had been told its a great restaurant. When we arrived they did not seem to have an idea about the reservation which was unprofessional. The owner or manager (not sure which) was a racist snob, we happened to be the only african diners there that evening and he COMPLETELY ignored our table not even a courteous hello, but made a point to go to every other table in the restaurant and even the ones around us that had caucasian and asian clients and find out if they were okay and in some cases even took their orders. The food was also very very average it was not as good at it had been hyped up to be, not tasty or well seasoned so it was pricy for nothing definitely not worth it. I have had better Italian food in Nairobi, needless to say I will not be going back there ever. This restaurant has just lost what would have been a great client because Italian food is my favorite cuisine, and i will spread the word to everyone I know about the racism.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

It's located at the bottom level of an apartment building.
Food is pricey, but you get value for your money.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank layla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salumeria also viewed

 

Been to La Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing