We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service/attitude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Salumeria

La Salumeria
Dhajay Apartments-Valley Arcade | Valley arcade Shopping Centre, Nairobi, Kenya
20 3875226
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 417 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service/attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We made reservations and went for Valentine's day. We were early diners, yet even though the restaurant was nearly empty, we were ushered to a table next to the only toddler in the place. We asked for a table on the patio but were refused with the answer they were "full". When we left an hour and a half later, there were still many empty tables. Only one choice of wine by the glass. The food was good, but the service was poor. Agree with the previous comments about the owner/manager. We won't be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZolaPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Have visited this restaurant many times and generally the food is good but service and attention very mixed.......

Helpful?
Thank hmf5863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HYPED UP FOR NOTHING”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I made a reservation to surprise my hubby for a night out, because i had been told its a great restaurant. When we arrived they did not seem to have an idea about the reservation which was unprofessional. The owner or manager (not sure which) was a racist snob, we happened to be the only african diners there that evening and he COMPLETELY ignored our table not even a courteous hello, but made a point to go to every other table in the restaurant and even the ones around us that had caucasian and asian clients and find out if they were okay and in some cases even took their orders. The food was also very very average it was not as good at it had been hyped up to be, not tasty or well seasoned so it was pricy for nothing definitely not worth it. I have had better Italian food in Nairobi, needless to say I will not be going back there ever. This restaurant has just lost what would have been a great client because Italian food is my favorite cuisine, and i will spread the word to everyone I know about the racism.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

It's located at the bottom level of an apartment building.
Food is pricey, but you get value for your money.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank layla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant in secluded location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I was warned about the prices in this restaurant and everything I was told was true. The owner has a high opinion of himself and this comes across as a kind of "attitude" to customers who decide to make their own decisions about what to select from the menu.

On the plus side the food was good even though my colleagues mentioned that the soup chosen was overburdened with salt. I didn't have that experience. The wine list was fairly limited but the wines provided were of a fairly good standard. The food was served promptly but the occasional smile would not go amiss.

The restaurant is ideally located for couples who wish to enjoy a meal for two in a secluded location.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Inscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salumeria also viewed

 

Been to La Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing