We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Salumeria

La Salumeria
Ranked #71 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Have visited this restaurant many times and generally the food is good but service and attention very mixed.......

Helpful?
Thank hmf5863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HYPED UP FOR NOTHING”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I made a reservation to surprise my hubby for a night out, because i had been told its a great restaurant. When we arrived they did not seem to have an idea about the reservation which was unprofessional. The owner or manager (not sure which) was a racist snob, we happened to be the only african diners there that evening and he COMPLETELY ignored our table not even a courteous hello, but made a point to go to every other table in the restaurant and even the ones around us that had caucasian and asian clients and find out if they were okay and in some cases even took their orders. The food was also very very average it was not as good at it had been hyped up to be, not tasty or well seasoned so it was pricy for nothing definitely not worth it. I have had better Italian food in Nairobi, needless to say I will not be going back there ever. This restaurant has just lost what would have been a great client because Italian food is my favorite cuisine, and i will spread the word to everyone I know about the racism.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

It's located at the bottom level of an apartment building.
Food is pricey, but you get value for your money.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank layla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
340 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant in secluded location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I was warned about the prices in this restaurant and everything I was told was true. The owner has a high opinion of himself and this comes across as a kind of "attitude" to customers who decide to make their own decisions about what to select from the menu.

On the plus side the food was good even though my colleagues mentioned that the soup chosen was overburdened with salt. I didn't have that experience. The wine list was fairly limited but the wines provided were of a fairly good standard. The food was served promptly but the occasional smile would not go amiss.

The restaurant is ideally located for couples who wish to enjoy a meal for two in a secluded location.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Inscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian restaurant with good food but slightly snobbish service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This restaurant used to be a favourite for my husband and I. However the service and attitude of the staff and to a certain extent the owner has always leaned towards the snobbish side. The kitchen once got my order wrong and there were hardly apologetic about it let alone offering to make up for it by complementary desert or anything.
The ambiance is beautiful and it is a hidden little place withing an apartment block. nice for a quiet romantic dinner.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shreyashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salumeria also viewed

 

Been to La Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing