We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Safari visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osoita Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Osoita Lodge
Ranked #52 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safari visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Very nice lodge, service is very nice and the lodge is located near a lot of nice activities. The staff at the lodge is able to organize a lor of different trips. I recommend this lodge to people that want to have luxerious stay in nairobi for not too much money..

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
habibmansur, Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I spent Christmas day in this lodge with my family. We had 2 lovely rooms, one being a cottage. Both were comfortable but the cottage seemed quite bare. The shower curtain was dirty too.
The restaurant was very busy at the time; it's the 1st restaurant ive heard telling a guest they cant prepare 'black' tea since they are too busy. The staff were so busy, you'd have to wait for ages to be seated & they didnt have time to clean up the tables/floor either.
The only reason i'm giving it a "very good " review instead of average is due to the service we received from the wait staff & especially the lady in charge. Food was lovely, definitely no complaints whatsover in that area. The pool was also lovely.
I'd still recommend this lodge; we still had a grand time especially during such a busy season.

Room Tip: Expect some traffic noise if you choose the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nairobi_ciku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
habibmansur, Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate and take our customer's feedback very seriously. First of all, we sincerely apologize about the curtain. We hope our staff was able to replace it with a clean one.
We have since increased the number of our waiting staff on a permanent basis to accommodate our growing clientele. We hope you will consider Osoita Lodge again for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had a one night mid-week stay and I wish I could stay for a week! On arrival I was greeted with fresh fruit juice and Martin the waiter was smart, polite and had excellent customer service skills. I checked into my single room, I had a hot shower-the best thing in the world after a month long camping safari!! The hotel has free wifi, which is super fast and I could Skype without any loss of connection! I could even get signal in my room. I upgraded from b&b to full board and the food was delicious with a great choice on the menu! The bed was extremely comfortable, I slept like a baby. There is a little noise from the nearby road but it didn't disturb me. I had the pool to myself for the whole day too. It's such a perfect retreat! The hotel booked me a taxi for the airport run in the evening an were extremely accommodating for my late check out request. I would come back in a heartbeat, no hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejae84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A beautiful, cosy place near Nairobi, close to some of the most recommended tourist sites.
Great service with very helpful staff, super-tasty food and a well-stocked bar.
Beautiful pool. The place is perfect for a weekend get-away or for the first few nights before a safari.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family stayed here for 2 nights in July having booked at the last minute as a stopover on our way to Mombasa, we were so glad we chose this hotel. It was a great place to stay at a very reasonable price for Nairobi. The hotel is much nicer than your typical city hotel and it is located very near Nairobi National park and the attractions near there e.g. Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage and the Giraffe centre. The restaurant is a beautiful huge thatched building and the rooms are built around it and there is a small swimming pool. The rooms are simply furnished but have mossie nets and a bathroom. The owners son was our driver for the day and he took us to see see the sights. He was very reasonably priced and a good source of knowledge. We ate at the restaurant in the evening, it is an Indian menu and the food was delicious. The staff are all very friendly and Charles our waiter was lovely. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a typically Kenyan experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alicatDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

The restaurant is very nicely designed. The food is Kenyan indian, with nice curries and nyama choma (roast goat). Prices are very fair for the quality.

There is also a small hotel with a plunge pool. The rooms are basic and clean, and fairly priced by Nairobi standards. Traffic jams to both Nairobi airports can be bad however.
Access to Nairobi National Park is however only a few minutes.

The staff is extremely helpful, and will make your stay really pleasant, whether it is for a meal or for overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaktariMzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Osoita Lodge is just before Rongai town ( the same road that takes you to Rolf's, Nazarene University & Masai Lodge, which has since been tarmacked :-)) It will be on your left where the road takes a slight dip.

The food is great and they are famous for their "Koroga" They provided the raw ingredients (chicken, fish or mutton, plus the spices and stuff) and you do your own cooking (You will need to call them a day earlier if you are going with this option.

They have bandas that can sit about 8-10 people comfortably in their very serene gardens, time just flew !

When we went they were redoing their rooms and had no live in guests, but gave us a tour anyway. The rooms by the pool were much better. Though in my opinion a wee bit over priced (They are asking for about Kes 5,000 - 7,000 PP,) They offer discounted rates for groups. You can call and discuss.

They have a swimming pool, well, more of a dipping pool as there is a huge sign saying "No Diving' :-) From its location, i think its only for residents.

Room Tip: I liked room number 1 :-) Take a look at the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetravel_buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
0.0 mi away
The Smith Hotel
The Smith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kiserian
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nyati Hill Cottages
Nyati Hill Cottages
#22 of 237 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 191 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
#2 of 191 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#10 of 237 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 237 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osoita Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osoita Lodge

Property: Osoita Lodge
Address: Nazarene University Road, behind Nairobi National Park off Magadi Road | Ongata Rongai, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osoita Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osoita Lodge is named after the Maasai word 'Soito' meaning 'Stones'. Osoita Lodge was designed and built by the owners themselves and that personalized touch is evident all across the lodge. All raw materials used in construction and furniture were extracted from the very ground where Osoita Lodge stands today. Osoita Lodge is located in Ongata Rongai, (also locally known as Rongai or simply 'Rongaa'). Rongai falls in the Olekassasi township which is a settlement in Kenya's Kajiado County, located between the Kaputiei plains and the Western slopes of the Ngong hills. Osoita is conveniently adjacent to the Nairobi National Park plus close to other major tourist attractions around Nairobi. Osoita's design is based on a traditional setup but with a modern twist. The lodge sports makuti thatching and makes use of traditional building materials and beautiful rustic furniture that brings out an authentic African touch. The lodge is setup within a tranquil, lush green environment with the seasonal River Kandisi running at the very edge of the lodge. A picturesque, rugged typography with a cool, homely feel characterizes the surrounding and ambience at Osoita Lodge. Osoita Lodge has a total of 27 rooms. 8 Balcony rooms on the upper level overlook the swimming pool and 11 standard rooms all built with natural materials bringing out a rough, rustic exterior, whilst the interior finish is cozy and contains all the modern comforts you might need. In August 2014, we also opened our newest wing with 8 new rooms that stay true to the spirit of Osoita by fusing tradition with modernity. All our rooms are equipped with private bathrooms and toilets en-suite, digital safes, reading lamps, mosquito nets and free, strong WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Osoita Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing