We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beware booking with this owner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of ELIA Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ELIA Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #101 of 234 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware booking with this owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We booked a two bedroomed apartment and bird watching safari with Annabel Onyando after reading positive reviews of her services. Our apartment was not booked and she sent us to a YWCA in Nairobi. After confronting her and paying yet more money we did, the next day arrive at our apartment which was at Tropical Towers, it was lovely. The so called safari consisted of a driver and car, with hotel accomodation. Peter was a pleasant young man who had no idea of our itinerary and further more no real knowledge of ornithology. We were left alone on one full day and two half days and had it not been for the staff at Sawela Lodge we would have seen nothing. We paid a great deal of money, mostly in advance for very little. We paid a 30% deposit for the safari in April and should have stayed at two lodges, but only got one, due I am sure to the fact that Annabel did not actually make the booking until July 27th. The hotel in Nakuru was town centre, hopeless for birding. Buyer beware, she is a con.

Room Tip: This rating is based on Tropical TowersTowers, it is lovely but book direct at www.tropicaltowers.co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivienkearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

The positive previous reviews sounded promising and encouraged me to book at Elia B&B. However, this B&B has a lot of problems, the main one that is not open. I was looking forward to meet this terrific host Annabel who turned out to be a con woman.

When I arrived I had to wait for more than an hour for Annabel to pick me up at the airport. Then I learnt that Elia Bed and Breakfast is closed due to problems with the infrastructure and quarrels with the landlord. So I was relocated to an old, never heard-off, pentecostal guesthouse. This was ok for 1 night but not for 3 weeks, so I decided to find myself another guesthouse. I never got back the deposit of $282.

Still that's no big deal. What's worse is that I also booked in advance a weekend safari trip to Naivasha and Nakuru with this Annabel who ensured me she would still organise it instead of paying me back the whole amount of money. This trip is beautifully depicted at her Elia-website and I trusted this lady who is so praised in the previous reviews here. Unfortunately, she did not keep her promises. She sent me out on safari with a van+driver, but upon arrival in Nakuru I found myself left without accommodation which I'd already paid for. She refused to pay and refused to refund. So I was really ripped off.

My negative experiences are in contrast to the other positive reviews. This is very strange. I cannot understand. Maybe she totally lost control? However, my story is truthful and I was left with a very bad feeling about Elia and Annabel who also rents (Ngong view) appartments in the Kilimani area. Be warned.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rccool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELIAHomes, Owner at ELIA Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
While we appreciate honest reviews This review is not Wholly true. The true part is that yes we are closed until September as we are moving to new premises. Now on your other comments;

Please note that when you travel into any country time spent at check out counters can be long. I do not control what happens at immigration. I was right behind you when you arrived and even asked if I had waited long.

While you were aware of terms of our bookings( these are clearly displayed in our website) you act like like you did not know this yet you even repeated them to your friend from a media house. Deposits are not refundable however with clients who pay us directly e.g. through money transfers we can do refunds. This was not the case with your accommodation booking, and you were aware of this and repeated it your friend.

When you book for a Tour or Safari with us we transfer accommodation costs for the period you could have stayed with us to the new accommodation. This is the only way we can arrange for cheap tours for you at no cost You did not stay with us so there was no money to transfer. We do not make a single dollar out of such tours and I also do not escort people for tours, one has a tour guide who is also your driver and is responsible for you while out of Nairobi.

It is sad that even after being aware of the terms of your booking, trying to get your friends in media to write something bad about us, and them finding nothing wrong that we did as regards your booking, you still insist on writing things that are not true. We do not let out apartments at Ngong View we have our own apartments in different areas in Nairobi.

I hope your email helps people manage their expectations. We do not run an escort service, when you book your booking fee is not refundable, tours on our website are for clients who stay with us, If you planning to stay on alternative accommodation you cover the cost of accommodation out of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

After a stay in Kampala, Nairobi was next on the trip. What a gem of a B&B, Lovely location, lovely host and at what a rate, much cheaper than the pricey hotels that Nairobi is known for. Annabel tried her best to make sure all is OK during my stay, and I have to say she is quite the host. Room was nice, and the Breakfast was quite decent.

The Business center was a real Bonus as well.

Be warned, traffic in Nairobi is a night-mare, so getting to and fro from this place in the rush-hour is manic. But nevertheless, not a place to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmorgan751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

It was a real delight to stay at Elia Bed and Beakfast, made especially good by the friendly and brilliantly effective host, Annabel, who makes sure her guests have everything they need. The location on Kilimani Road is about perfect for anyone keen to keep out of central Nairobi, but aside from rush hour it is easily accessible by car/cab from town, and there are several good restaurants nearby. With Annabel's help I got to all my meetings on time in different parts of town. The rooms are really comfortable, and the shared business centre/study a real bonus, especially as Internet dongles are provided, and really work well. It's not a big expensive hotel, and that's why I liked it so much. A perfect place to stay in Nairobi, and great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakerstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metlakatla, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

Elia's Bed and Breakfast was a delightful find. It is bright, cheerful, immaculate, and comfortable. The breakfast was complete with eggs/omelets made to order. Although it was not a problem for us, the B&B was on the third (4th?) floor with no elevator; the staff, however, were right there to carry luggage upstairs. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable; fresh, cold juice and water was provided on our arrival. There is a large, pleasant room where one can exercise, listen to music, or do business tasks. It is beautifully and colorfully decorated, extremely clean, and within walking distance to a shopping center. Annabel, the manager (owner?) is personable, friendly, and helpful! Our cab driver had a bit of difficulty finding the place at night, so make sure you have specific directions. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curtnwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

I travel to Nairobi frequently for work and always have had a hard time finding good accommodation for a reasonable price. On my last trip I happened to stay here and now I know I won't ever have to hunt around again! This is by far the best B&B experience I've had in Kenya - comfortable, clean, good location, and a great home-like atmosphere. Annabel will take great care of you - everything from breakfast to laundry to help arranging a weekend safari. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

What a fabulous place! Our group of ten people from Puerto Rico has found this apartment feel like home. Thanks to Brenda for all the good breakfast, great company and clean rooms. Thanks to Annabel for her kindness and for her efforts to bring jobs to single mothers in Nairobi. The apartment in Ngong View is fantastic!
The transportation arrangements offered are a great value and worth every penny. Annabel is a savvy business person and a great human being. Forget booking an expensive hotel in Nairobi! This place has everything you need. Either cook for yourself or get an in house cook. The Ngong View apartment is within walking distance to at least 2 good supermarkets, a food court and ATMs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyboricuatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Amber Hotel
#20 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#89 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Hibiscus Guest House
#25 of 234 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ELIA Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ELIA Bed & Breakfast

Property: ELIA Bed & Breakfast
Address: Kilimani Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing