We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and music”
Review of Onami Grill & Sushi Bar - CLOSED

Onami Grill & Sushi Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“great food and music”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went for a nice evening out and it was great. Food was lovely! My husband is vegan so he asked what he could take from the menu. No problem - the chef created the most wonderful plate of grilled veggies. Music a bit loud if you want to come with a group to talk, but for a smaller table it works just well as you don't overhear other people's conversations. Nice mix of Kenyans and non-Kenyans. We came on Thursday and found live music and salsa dancing - good atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElsNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    38
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Went here for drinks”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice, laid back atmosphere for drinks. However, the service is VERY slow.

Did not have food but heard it is good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just can't seem to get it right...”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not sure why these guys still can't get it right. I think the Art Caffe folks (who also own Onami) are just spending too much time developing new concepts and not focusing on their current brands. Onami's setting is really great, but unfortunately, every time we go there's always an issue with the service or with roaches. My first issue is that this place has roaches. It's on the second floor w/ no other food around it, it should NOT have roaches. My wife and I decided to sit at the bar (which I no longer recommend) and we saw a roach walk by our meal. We notified the supervisor who took care of it. We, unfortunately, decided to stay in our seats and a few minutes later another roach crawled by our meal. At that point, we were pretty frustrated and decided it was time to leave.

Second complaint is that Onami always runs out of ingredients. For instance, we ordered a tuna roll w/ avocado. The roll came out with avocado. Brought it the waiters attention and he said that they ran out of avocado. Another instance, we ordered the expensive teppanyaki and it came without lobster. They decided to replace it with Salmon. I can understand that a restaurant may run out of items from time to time, but they should tell the customer before he/she places the order.

Overall, just a bad experience every time we go which is unfortunate, b/c the food isn't half bad.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rsidhpura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went here for a dinner and drinks with friends. The food was great, for those who like fish, try it. The garlic rice was good, chicken wonderful. Sushi is really nice here and its a joy to watch the chef prepare the teriyaki & fish.
Its happy hour until 7pm weekdays so you get to enjoy two drinks for the price of one.
The music was awesome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service & atmosphere, OK food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have always liked the atmosphere of this restaurant - feels like a nice escape from the city. The service is usually pretty good as well. Food, particularly the veggie sushi, is nothing write home about, and is overpriced in general.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onami Grill & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing