We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Childfriendly shopping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amani ya Juu

Amani ya Juu
Ranked #10 of 34 Shopping in Nairobi
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Childfriendly shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Nice place to go and have coffee while the kids are playing in the playground. There is also a very nice shop with good quality gifts for kids and adults. It's one of our favorite places in Nairobi.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Udenjpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite spot in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have spent a lot of time in Kenya and I've never been anywhere like Amani. It's quiet, peaceful, and beautiful. The ladies are kind, funny, and creative. Everything I've bought from Amani is high quality and last for years. Thank you, Amani ya Juu!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“a wonderful respite in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had lunch here on a busy day and stepping into the garden was amazing, with traffic zipping by just feet away, you felt like you were in your own world. the products in the store were great for gifts (you can buy online as well if you forgot to pick up something!)

I highly recommend a visit here. Ask for a tour and see how they are changing women's lives.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful crafts, pleasant garden, great food...with a playground for the little ones!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Such a nice place to spend a few hours over lunch with kids. Browsing in the store is really fun- lots of beautiful items, slightly higher prices than a market, but nicer quality, and a pleasant low stress shopping experience. the cafe in the garden is lovely, and great to have the playground there too.

Helpful?
2 Thank RobinFarnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The products at Amani are all great - beautiful prints, good quality workmanship, and designs that are perfect for gifts for those back home because they are beautiful and say 'africa' but also translate well to the fit and complement the american/european style. The prices are also incredibly reasonable considering the quality - you could probably bargain for a bit cheaper in the markets for something similar, but I find these items last much longer and are much better made. You can purchase great clutch purses for as little as kes 670/-, I even found some for 320/- because they were previous seasons fabric and on sale! I'd suggest going during lunch time so you can also enjoy the amazing salads and muffins in the garden that seems like an escape from the bustle of construction around the garden cafe.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnTheRoad4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amani ya Juu also viewed

 

Been to Amani ya Juu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing