We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful crafts, pleasant garden, great food...with a playground for the little ones!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani ya Juu

Amani ya Juu
Ranked #10 of 34 Shopping in Nairobi
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful crafts, pleasant garden, great food...with a playground for the little ones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Such a nice place to spend a few hours over lunch with kids. Browsing in the store is really fun- lots of beautiful items, slightly higher prices than a market, but nicer quality, and a pleasant low stress shopping experience. the cafe in the garden is lovely, and great to have the playground there too.

Helpful?
2 Thank RobinFarnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The products at Amani are all great - beautiful prints, good quality workmanship, and designs that are perfect for gifts for those back home because they are beautiful and say 'africa' but also translate well to the fit and complement the american/european style. The prices are also incredibly reasonable considering the quality - you could probably bargain for a bit cheaper in the markets for something similar, but I find these items last much longer and are much better made. You can purchase great clutch purses for as little as kes 670/-, I even found some for 320/- because they were previous seasons fabric and on sale! I'd suggest going during lunch time so you can also enjoy the amazing salads and muffins in the garden that seems like an escape from the bustle of construction around the garden cafe.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnTheRoad4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relax in the middle of chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The salads are incredibly delicious! Portions are generous, so have a half one if you have an average appetite. Inexpensive, too! However, I found the products in the shop to be a little on the expensive side - not to say that I don't value the work that was put into it, but it made it so that it was just outside of my price range. I'd go back for the food and ambiance any day though! Except Sunday, of coursed, cause they're closed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlaineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
675 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds...lovely women”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The woman who work at Amani are all survivors. The handwork they do, the bags, the quilts, the clothing, all help support them and teach them an occupation. The cafe has the best mocha! The grounds are very pretty and the kids can enjoy running and playing on the playground equipment.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank joburkholder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It's a great place or food, shopping and playground for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I go regularly to this place with my family. The kids absolutely love the playground (2yrs and 4yrs) and we love the food and the beautiful garden setting. They have a great gift shop as well with quality African items but they are not very cheap compared to Masai Markets which you can now find everywhere. They close very early (stop serving at 3.30pm) and rarely have eerything they offer on their menu which is a real shame coz I can't seem to find another place like this in Nairobi...

Helpful?
Thank Nthenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amani ya Juu also viewed

 

Been to Amani ya Juu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing