We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Progressive Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Progressive Park Hotel
Ranked #27 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
N Delhi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is outside the CBD area. One mall s in front. Nothing else. Its more like an aprtment, not a regular hotel. Service is not so good. Reception staff seems to be out of sorts. Even after paying the rent again aksed for payment. Wasted lot of time. This is terrible.

Room Tip: Stay in new wing. little better then old wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kumar56775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank your for the feedback received regarding your stay at our hotel recently. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

As many reviews have pointed out our Location, although away from the CBD, is quite prime and more importantly very secure.

I have noted with concern your remarks regarding the reception asking for payment twice and assure you that necessary corrective measures shall be taken up. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused as a result.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity so we can show you why your disappointment on your last visit was an isolated case.

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    57
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
12
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location:
Westlands. A 24 hr Nakumatt and one of the better malls of Nairobi at 50m on either side of the hotel.
In a city infamous for notorious nights, you can easily walk to these 2 places to for meals /shopping /movies and a cup of coffee. The breakfast and dining had started barely 2 months before I stayed. Food was ok, not great. The rooms arent upto the mark . There is a typical smell that fills the whole room. Somehow I found the rooms to be a bit shady because of the interiors too.

They do not have an in house laundry service but the housekeeping run one on their own personal level.

One big disappointment is lack of a elevator even though there are rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor of one the buildings. Be careful if you are carrying a heavy luggage.

Overall its decent for a night or 2's stay but anything more than that can be avoided.

Room Tip: Choose ones on the ground or 1st floor if you have heavy luggage. Also avoid rooms near the gym as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogesh_Gadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank your for the feedback received regarding your stay at our hotel recently. We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Our Studio Rooms which are newly built have been furnished to very high standards and it is regrettable to read that they did not meet your expectations.

As pointed out the Restaurant was fairly new when you visited us; since then the Menu has been extensively improved and has received lots of compliments from the Hotel Guests.

There is already a plan to install an elevator and this should be installed very shortly (next 4-6 weeks)

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity so we can show you why your disappointment on your last visit was an isolated case.

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fair priced hotels here WITH a decent gym are hard to find. You will either get the top end costing hundreds of dollars or the mid range with a box room "gym" that you could barely swing a cat in. This hotel has a decent sized gym (when it is open). This is the caveat. It would appear that the gym opens and closes at the whim of the trainer who is on duty there and the reception staff appear powerless or unwilling to do anything about them closing early for example.

This is just a minor gripe for the hotel itself is so well located for those of us on foot. You can walk to the 2 malls in close proximity and the cinema is a godsend if you like that too. A good selection of places to eat are close by if you decide that the hotel food is not for you.

Food is vegetarian so if you are an ardent meat eater then perhaps you might not appreciate the culinary offerings. The breakfasts are ample and are included in the cost so no complaints from me there. There is a reasonably priced daily buffet too should you wish to sample some tasty Indian delights.

I like attention to detail, so it is great to have a kettle with teabags and coffee to make your own with a complimentary bottle of water every day. My personal favourite is the two fudge bars that are left in the room every day. I have a sweet tooth so this is great!

Overall a great hotel - minus 1 star for the lack of control over gym opening times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnmaccoolHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. It is very pleasing to read such great positive feedback. As you have pointed out our location is very prime with 3 Shopping Malls within very close vicinity of the Hotel.

It is regrettable that you were inconvenienced with the early closing times of the gym. There were a couple of days during December when there was a Public Service Vehicles (Matatu) strike resulting in the gym closing early. This decision was taken so that the staff would be able to reach home on time. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you as a result of this and would like to assure you that the occurrence of such an event is very rare.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Reasonable hotels in Nairobi are difficult to find. Either they are the posh expensive ones or they are a bit grubby and not very nice. Unfortunately the ones that are a bit grubby and not so nice can still cost anything up to 100$ a night. The Progressive Park Hotel is reasonably priced, clean, and has nice spacious rooms with good bed, decent TV, and all other amenities including a fridge. This hotel is great for coming into or leaving Nairobi, as getting to the airport is alright especially early morning or late evening, and the best thing about it is that is next to one of the best malls in Nairobi, which gives lots of choices for food and shopping. So no need to talk about the hotel restaurant - there is lots of choice nearby if you don't like Indian vegetarian food.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are new and very spacious, but some face the gym which apparently sometimes pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I would like to assure you that we have taken sufficient preventive measures to ensure the Gym does not cause any noise disturbance to the hotel guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Best Regards
Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Rooms are spacious, well-furnished, very clean and well maintained! Good housekeeping indeed!

The new restaurant is quite contemporary and attractively laid out!

Like the owner Director, Mr.Shalin Thakrar, the staff are attentive to guests' needs and go out of their way to ensure that the guests are comfortable and enjoy a pleasant stay!

Very briefly stated - "great value for money"!!

Room Tip: The new block is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for the Great review about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi. It is extremely encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are an Indian and vegetarian, this is the hotel for you. So let me go point by point. Firstly on the rooms: you have quite a few options on rooms, we took the lowest one, studio room. Studio rooms are quite good wrt space (neither too small nor too big), the wardrobes are done well, you have a study table and a little couch in the room. The bathroom is basic but very neat and organised. The rooms are neat and clean. The housekeeping guys will help you with whatever you need in the room, with extra tea/ coffee (facility in the room), to a repellent spray. The room we took was on the first floor of the reception adjacent building. Dont go by the reception looks, it looks quite small and unimpressive, the rooms, food, staff and security is very good. There are quite a few other options with the rooms too, bigger ones, but for a couple with a 4yrs old, this seemed quite good. Also we got a deal from trip advisor, 90USD per night with bf.
Staff, very courteous, helpful, friendly and will go a step further to help. 10/ 10 on this.
The location takes the cake, towards the right is the well known grand, Westgate mall (5min walk) and right in front is the Nakumat (24hrs supermarket)! (5min walk) Nakumat is like the Big Bazaar in India.
The food is delicious, but pls note they dont even serve eggs, its a pure veg hotel! The breakfast is quite Indian with a few continental options. The mini veg samosas they served on day one were awesome (inspite that I dont like fried, these were yum) They also give an option of having a buffet for dinner, which too is a 6 course meal.
I loved the hotel for its hygiene, food, staff and location, very modest yet great. Good value for money.
They also have a well equipped gym & spa, but unfortunately we could not use the same, as it closes early on Sundays (by 1400hrs)

Room Tip: dont take the studio apartment in the basement of the reception building, its quite bad. take studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review from your latest stay with us. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.

I am pleased to inform you that we already have a plan in place for setting up a new Hotel Reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Rooms are spacious, well-furnished, very clean and includes free hi-speed wifi internet service. Complimentary breakfast includes warm Indian dishes as well and is served in a banquet hall with sufficient seating. Both the staff and the owner are attentive to guests' needs and go out of their way to ensure that guests' stay at the hotel is pleasant!

Room Tip: There are also apartment suites available. The hotel is fairly new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProgressiveParkHotel, Manager at Progressive Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your latest stay with us. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed our personalised service as well as our large Breakfast spread.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Progressive Park

Management
Progressive Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
0.3 mi away
The Zehneria Portico Nairobi
0.7 mi away
Bidwood Suites Hotel
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nanchang Hotel
Nanchang Hotel
#55 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
2.0 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#25 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Emerald
The Hotel Emerald
#47 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Progressive Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progressive Park Hotel

Property: Progressive Park Hotel
Address: Mwanzi Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nairobi's business and leisure district (Westlands), Progressive Park Hotel boasts a host of very good amenities and services. The Westgate-Mall, Sarit-Centre and Ukay-Centre are within walking distance and provide great convenience to all guests. The 23 Furnished Suites; 28 Studio Rooms and 9 Executive Studio Rooms with AC are spacious, airy and aptly suit the requirements of business executives and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Progressive Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing