We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for dining in or Take out Indian Cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 537 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great for dining in or Take out Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have enjoyed three meals at the Open House, and one was take away. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the food is delicious. Good wine and drink selection, and everything served elegantly. You have to look hard to find it, as it is tucked away upstairs in a small shopping mail, but well worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JosetteG200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Public Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
HI Josette,

Thank you for a great review. Our locations are on google maps or on our website.

rgds,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    179
    29
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Top top value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Unbelievable value for what looks like a very basic restaurant, we has a take out and enjoyed at home rather than in the basic setting of the restaurant

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Public Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Hi David and thank you for the compliments.

Did you know that we have several delivery service contacts that you could use to bring your order home for you? Give us a call.

rgds,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Solid Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stopped here on a Monday night for dinner, and the place was half full, which we took as a good sign. Between the 4 of us, we ordered the eggplant, the mutton (I forgot which one, the most popular apparently), spinach, and chicken tikka curry, with a basket of garlic naan. All in all, a solid meal. The mutton was unmemorable and even a little too chewy. The chicken tikka and spinach were crowd pleasers. The real winner of the night, however, was the eggplant. Deliciously cooked and incredibly flavorful, that was the only dish that we wiped clean with our naan and spoons. Service was pretty quick and friendly. Would definitely come again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Public Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Hi Christine,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We will make a note of the mutton - it usually melts in your mouth. Try our chicken makhanwalla on your next visit.

Kind regards,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
217 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Open house has never seized to disappoint as the food is of good quality and if one wants a wholesome Indian curry, this is the place to dine. The service is friendly and the atmosphere is okay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank smatlock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We appreciate your review and hope that you'll be back soon.
rgds,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
266 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The curry was really, really good. Five of us shared various curries, breads and rice dishes and everything was fantastic. Not too fatty and the medium heat we went for was pretty tame. Not too expensive either. The service was good as well. The area just outside the restaurant looks a bit shaky - dark and some street kids hanging around which was a bit concerning when we pulled up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T-Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi,
You could perhaps order a turbo nan to spice things up in case you find you've ordered a spice level too low. We usually have security out front and we ensure that they are more vigilant.
have a great day,
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing