We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“EXCELLENT INDIAN CUISINE AT FAST FOOD PRICES” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 522 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT INDIAN CUISINE AT FAST FOOD PRICES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

we, four of us, had an incredible lunch that included mutton, shrimp and chicken with nan and soft drinks in well decorated salon with great service for around $50.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nealcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you and we look forward to having you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Open House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    170
    27
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“amazinf food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The food is amazing. Service is exemplary. Decor is authentic. A bit pricey but worth it. especially loved the Chicken lollipops and Chicken makanwala (sorry if not spelled right)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KandVaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear K and V,
The correct spelling is Makhanwala. Makhan is hindi for home made butter - the favourite of the indian god Krishna who was notorious for coming up with all sorts of schemes for stealing it from his neighbours as a child. We feel our pricing is very fair and if you would compare prices taking into account the portion sizes, I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised. Looking forward to having you back soon. Have a wonderful day.
rgds,
v
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in nairobi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food,value for money,will have you dreaming long after your done
Try the ginger wings,butter chicken for vegetarians the chilli paneer is a must,it is important to pre book due to large customer base,to me open house undoubtedly creates culinary masterpieces
Suitable for all types of crowds but preferably family and friends due to the thriving and lively environment,this very factor is what gives open house an Indian flourish that makes one feel as though they are sitting in a restaurant in India!
The decorations are tasteful with beautiful blends of colors.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you Pari for the great review,

You could try our Karen branch for a quiet romantic dinner, or even a private business lunch.

rgds,
v
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food with good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

One of the favorites for Indian cuisines. Really good service with excellent taste. Worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mevarvany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the compliments Bobby,
Its usually easier to get a table quicker on rush days at our Karen branch. The decor, presentation and a few of the dishes are different, but we ensure the same quality and satisfaction. Hope to serve you soon. Have a great day.
rgds,
v
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Indian Food Nirvana!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had tried the other well known Indian Restaurant in Nairobi but Open House wins my vote hands down. Even though we had a long wait by the bar when we got to the table and explored the menu offerings I could understand why this unassuming place is so popular. The food is just delicious and the portions just right. When I am next in Nairobi I will no doubt be back for more at Open House. This time I will try to book or just go a little earlier. If you are up for Indian food and not looking for a designer restaurant this is the place. An absolute must try!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boodha85, Guest Relations Manager at Open House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for the compliments Bobby,
Its usually easier to get a table quicker on rush days at our Karen branch. The decor, presentation and a few of the dishes are different, but we ensure the same quality and satisfaction. Hope to serve you soon. Have a great day.
rgds,
v
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing