We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummmyy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ring Road Parklands, Opp The Mall | Centro House, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
+254 727 726345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 417 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummmyy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Best North Indian Cuisine ever - Kadai paneer and Chilly paneer are delicious

Nans/Rotis made fresh to order with chillies.

Service is efficient and prompt! Definitely recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodCrit81tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“MMMMMM..............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great, amazing Indian food. We ate here twice in the amount of time I was in Kenya. It was one of the best Indian food experiences I've had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“favorite Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The best Indian food I have ever had in a restaurant. Everything I have tasted thus far has been wonderful. Fresh and full of flavour! Definite favorite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xtynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pokey but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The entrance to this great Indian restaurant is the back end of a building and a bit of a hurdle race.
But it is well worth it.
Reputed to be the best Indian restaurant in Nairobi.
No ventilation, but spread over 2 floors, this is what a typical Indian restaurant would look like.
The owner/manager is always on site and personally assigns you your table.
Service is efficient.
The food is excellent. Takes you back to India from the first glance of the food.
We are vegetarians and can vouch for their range and taste. Do state the level of spiciness you want, up front.
For non vegetarians there is the usual set of choices and someone with us who ate the chicken said that it was probably the best they had ever tasted ever. Which is high praise indeed.
It is a popular place for expats/tourists as well.
So if visiting Nairobi and want a taste of good Indian food make Open House a must visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarishVasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The choice of food is excellent! The taste is really great! Service is good and the staff are attentive! I think this is the best Indian restaurant in Nairobi!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing