We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open House Restaurant

Open House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The service was very good, and the food was wonderful. It was nice to enjoy a tasty meal. I would recommend dressing up a bit. We went in jeans and t-shirts and felt a bit out of place. It is a little bit expensive, but completely worth it! I would recommend the vegetarian paneer and the house ice cream!! We went to the location in Karen at the Crossroads Mall on the second floor. What a hidden gem!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    158
    26
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HCMC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST Indian Food in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Open House, Hashmi's, Diamond Plaza Food court - that is my order of good indian food. People say Haandi's, I say Open House. But, this is just my opinion. Get the ginger mushroom and the paneer chili...awesome!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank infinitemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Obnoxious service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is perhaps the only restaurant in Nairobi (or perhaps all if Kenya) where table rotation take priority over a leisurely dinner. The manager is quite anxious to get new customers in that he wants the existing ones to finish their dinner in a hurry and get out.

The quality is not all that exceptional anyway.

Not a restaurant I will visit ever!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gopal-Venkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Curry house in Karen?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very pleasant curry house eatery in Karen at the Nakumatt Crossroads mall. Great food, great service, reasonably priced, what more can one want in a curry house.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Top quality Indian restaurant in safe environment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Like many good restaurants, you have no idea how good this is until you go beyond the front door. This is a popular place and you need to book. The food is excellent. Service prompt and efficient. I felt comfortable and very well fed here! Also positioned close to the Sankara hotel.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing