We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambience, Great Food!”

Open House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 547 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Open House Restaurants, we believe that Fine Indian Cuisine comes from a delicate balance of succulent food, authentic ambiance and personalised service. So when you walk into our doors, be ready to experience a connucopia of indian flavours, whilst being transported into our traditionally set surroundings. Feel free to enquire about your taste preference or take suggestion from our experienced staff. Enjoy!
Zambia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ambience, Great Food!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Nice place though they need to pave their parking area. Otherwise they cannot be faulted for their food, service and cosy atmosphere. I would recommend anybody who loves quality food in a quality interior atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speedbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    185
    30
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Given the choice between Open House and Haandi (across the street) I would choose Open House every time because their prices are more reasonable and their food is just as delicious. Service was excellent. I would go back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had visited the Haandi restaurant on several occasions and found the food there excellent. So we were curious to find out how the highest ranked Indian restaurant on Trip Advisor's list, Open House, compared with it. Open House is certainly popular, because when we arrived, the restaurant was full, which is always a good sign. We noted that the decor was OK but a little on the drab sidel.

We asked to look at the wine list, but our first choice was not available. We then asked for a particular Merlot on the wine list. "Is that red or white?" the waiter asks. "Hello, what do we have here" I thought. Eventually another waiter arrived who seemed to know what was required. But even then he seemed to have difficulty drawing the cork (it was not a screw top) Also, the prices were generally about KES400 dearer than the wine list of its nearby competitor.

When we ordered our food, the waiter seemed to have difficulty in explaining the various dishes (which are described somewhat differently from its competitor in Westlands Mall). It took quite a while for the food to arrive (served by yet a different waiter) The three dishes we ordered were reasonably tasty and, while the rice was average, the naan was somewhat disappointing (being slightly soggy). All in all, the dishes, although OK, did not quite match the panache and subtle flavours of those of its nearby competitor. The prices of the dishes were roughly similar.

All in all, my conclusion is that the restaurant does not really warrant its high ranking Trip Advisor's list of Nairobi restaurants.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, and yum!”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

So good my mouth is watering just thinking about the food. The best indian food in a city with great indian food. All of the dishes are good with a light skillfull touch on the spices, oils, and sauces. The setting not quite as nice as the food but the food makes up for a lot.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cosmic_beancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“excellent!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The best indian restaurant in the country, well known for its massive tiger prawn tikka, chilli paneer, and many other indian delicacies. highly recommended for big groups, families with children, the owners are also always on site so the operations are happening in an orderly manner. make sure you place a reservation before going.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASHMombasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Open House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing