We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nairobi Tented Camp
Ranked #1 of 226 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We only had two days to squeeze in a safari and the Nairobi Tented Camp was everything we could have asked for and more!
The people were AMAZING! Everyone (Clemens, Silas, Daniel, Issa, Dixon, Peter) took such good care of us! We wanted for nothing. All we had to do was ask.
Food was delicious. We were astounded that such a variety of delicious dishes could come from a safari camp.
Issa was an amazing guide and found us lions everywhere.
Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
60
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

After a day time flight, it was great to be met at JKA and transported direct to the camp, where I could settle in and have a good night's rest in peaceful, comfortable surroundings so I was refreshed before starting the rest of my adventures. The staff, led by Chloe, were very welcoming and helpful, the food excellent, the camp very restful, plenty of animals to be seen on a game drive.
There is a good range of things to do outside the National Park, too, if you have time. I visited the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage - they do a fantastic job and it was a joy to see the little ellies so well cared for and happy.
Two nights at this camp proved to be an excellent way to start a safari holiday. I felt rested, pampered, and with my appetite whetted to continue on to different areas, including other Porini camps which offered the best accommodation and experiences I have encountered in my three trips to Kenya.
Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safarimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of Nairobi.....and only minutes to get to! Once inside the National Park and at NTB you are taken to a different world of peace and tranquility. Staff at NTB were excellent and food superb. Highly recommend NTB, only camp inside the park, a park that offers an extensive range of animals to view.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44Geg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

After a two journey around Africa we had the pleasure to stay with Clemence and her wonderful staff in this jewel in Nairobi. The solitude of the camp was made even more special by the accommodation and meals served with such a smile. To sit an watch animals grazing as you sit around a camp fire finished our trip in style. The guide on our drives, Andrew, was one of the best we had shared time with in 5 other countries and we would return to Kenya and safari with him again at Game Watchers Safaris. we wished we could have stayed longer and my 4 adult children all have vowed to bring partners back to the tented camp. Don't miss the opportunity to share this gem in Nairobi

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

You could easily imagine that you've been transported a few hundred kilometres from Nairobi, so quiet is the camp and so dense the forest around it. All the sounds of the city are replaced by jungle sounds at night. And yet you've travelled only a few kilometres from the city.

The Nairobi Tented Camp inside the Nairobi National Park is a great alternative to driving three hours or more visit the otherwise nearest conservancy from Nairobi, and a great base from which to explore this gem of a park. I would also imagine that a visitor to the city with a weekend on his or her hands would appreciate the opportunity of spending it in this comfortable resort rather than in a city hotel.

The food and service are excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NirmalyaKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

After landing at JKIA we have been greeted by our driver and been driven to the gates of NBO National Park. There we met with our guide who drove us to the camp. On the way we already saw rhinos (!), impalas and many other animals. The camp itself is very beautiful and the service was excellent. The warm shower was the perfect start into the afternoon game drive. Our guide Anthony and driver Gregory were really excellent and we had never expected to see so many animals, including a big pride of lions, many giraffes, black and white rhinos and many many other animals. We enjoyed a sundowner by the fireplace in the camp and afterwards a very good dinner. If you don't want to spend your time in any NBO hotel but rather enjoy the wilderness and great hospitality this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOE10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was an amazing place I've ever visited as it was a camping experience inside a forest just an hour away from the intl airport. The service was excellent specially the trouble that they go through for you to have a hot water shower is laudable. A fire in the night to keep the guests warm and cozy is another point to mention. If I was given another chance to stay Nairobi city, I'll chose this place instead of city hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimzan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Property: Nairobi Tented Camp
Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing