We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to par with other tented camps” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nairobi Tented Camp
Ranked #1 of 250 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not up to par with other tented camps”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in the Nairobi Tented Camp for a night in August 2013 and was not impressed, in fact, a bit disappointed. I wanted to stay there rather than stay in a concrete hotel in the middle of the city for my last night in Kenya, particularly because we were going to be visiting Daphne Sheldrick's elephant orphanage, which is in the park. The staff was wonderful, the guide was terrific (Tim), and the food was great - in fact, better than anywhere else we'd been in the Mara tent camping, but the site is lacking. I felt a bit like a prisoner there because there is nothing to look at (i.e. no view from your tent), nowhere to walk (everything is in the bushes), and nowhere to sit and read (not enough light). There is a small path leading to several tents (there are only 8 tents), and across from your tent are nothing but large bushes. The tents are a bit close together, but with nowhere to walk other than to and from your tent and the dining/reception area, you feel stifled. I believe there is a river behind all that shrubbery, so maybe if they cleared that out a bit so there is a more open feeling to the camp. Unless you want to lay in your tent when you're there or sit in the reception area, there is nothing for you to do and it gets boring fast. At other camps I've been to on the Mara, there are always animals to watch in an area around the camp, whether it is warthogs in the camp browsing or giraffes on the savannah out there in front of you. There are things to do. Although the camp is not located where you could view a savannah area, it is just too cramped into the bush, as if they didn't want to remove any shrubs unless absolutely necessary, and it's just too scrappy. Since there is nothing to do while in camp, they should light up an area in the reception room more so people can at least read a book. I would not go back. I would rather stay at the Norfolk Hotel as an alternative.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtoninarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunduziNyama, Owner at Nairobi Tented Camp, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of Nairobi Tented Camp and I was very glad to note your comments that you felt our camp staff and guide were wonderful and that the food was great and better than elsewhere on your safari.
However I was most concerned about your disappointment that the camp was surrounded by bushes so that you could not see out and I have noted your comment that we need to clear the surrounding foliage to create a better view. It is true that we do wish to avoid cutting down any trees and from the outset the National Park authorities had asked for the camp to be hidden deep inside the forest and to be set up with minimal impact on the natural surroundings but we are now discussing with the Park Warden how we might cut back some of the bushes and surrounding undergrowth to give a bit more of a view.
We are also discussing with our Camp Manager, Guide and Staff how to arrange for our guests to have more to do while staying with us such as being shown some of the rich birdlife in the forest around the camp which includes many beautiful species such as Hartlaub’s Turaco and the Narina Trogon which is a rare bird but commonly seen around the tents. We are now also featuring more game drive opportunities in the park throughout the day as well as the visit to Daphne Sheldrick’s Elephant Orphanage.
Thank you for letting us know of your concern about the lack of a view and we hope that you will accept our assurance that we are looking into ways of addressing it and we are very sorry if this aspect was a disappointment for you.

Jake Grieves-Cook
Managing Director
Gamewatchers Safaris Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
66
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I go to Nairobi regularly for work, but this time had (overseas) colleagues with me who had never been to Kenya let alone to "safari style" place so decided to book something completely different...a tented camp right in the middle of Nairobi!
It was awesome. Up to the last minute we were in suspense if we could stay there or not, as it had rained that much in Nairobi that entire areas were flooded and my Kenyan colleague who went to check out the tented camp prior to our arrival got stuck with his car (always pleasant in the middle of a national park with predators around, but luckily he could get hold of the rangers who saved him out of his awkward position).
The tents are cute and nicely decorated. For people that can't live without certain luxuries please do reconsider. The showers work fine, but you will first have to order warm water and then patiently wait for it to be carried to your tent.
Absolutely loved it. I have been to a lot of "real" safari lodges in the Masai Mara and elsewhere and obviously, you can't compare those places to the tented camp in Nairobi.
I found exactly the fact that you are in the middle of a huge city, yet in the middle of nature, fascinating!
Definitely a must if you ONLY have time to go to Nairobi for example, otherwise a longer stay in a more "real" safari area would be advisable.
Nevertheless, be aware that Nairobi National Park is NOT Afro Disney, it is not a zoo, it is a real national park, it just happens to be in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

What a unique safari experience just a stone's throw from busy, bustling Nairobi. Hats off to the staff for their warm welcome, impeccible service and inobtrusive attention to detail. And thanks to our highly knowledgeable game drive guide who taught us what to look for in the early morning activities of the animals we encountered. First prize went to a pair of jackals being smartly outwitted by adult antelope doing decoy runs to distract them away from their young in the grass. We shall be back, and will send others...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank duplessisjean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

What can I say? Safari under the skyline of Nairobi. After 7 years of visiting Kenya my first Rhino with her baby .. this place has lots to offer as a first or last day (as we did) before flying home. We were picked up from our hotel, given a small game drive to the camp (which is small but beautifully and sympathetically run), had a wonderful lunch, a magical game drive in the afternoon with Harry, a very nice dinner with some great new friends from around the world then we were taken to the airport for our flight back to UK .. what a way to end another fabulous holiday in Kenya .. a hotel or a safari in Nairobi .. I know what we'll be doing again next year.

Room Tip: it doesn't matter .. it's the experience that counts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfinder_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm not sure how to review this camp, as we were well taken care of by the friendly staff. If you are going on 10-14 days to Mara and Amboseli and plan on spending the next two weeks in Porini tented camps in those National parks you may want to skip this one.
However: If you only have a day or two available whilst in Nairobi on business and would like to get the feel of a tented camp in the bush - this camp is great!! You will sleep well and experience wildlife up close. You will also be taken good care of by the very friendly and service-minded staff. You will fall asleep to weird sounds from various animals and you will be safe and sleep well. You will also experience a tour around the National Park in close proximity to wildlife. You will eat excellent meals and feel pampered. So, yes - this camp can be recommended.
It is when you travel onwards to Porini Camps in Amboseli and/or Mara you will be stunned and realize how a safari with wildlife and tented camps is intended to be!!
With that in mind: This is unique with wildlife and wilderness so close to the Nairobi skyline.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

After a tiring drive at end of May 2013 from Mombasa, we stopped off at NTC for one night. It was still low season and we were the only guests. We got a warm welcome from the staff and immediately liked the homely & comfortable look of the tented lounge. Porini specialises in making guests comfortable in their camps but at the same time manage to retain a sense of a real camping experience. They do without the OTT luxury that you find in many other camps.
To be able to get a sense of what it is like to stay in the African bush when still so near to a country's capital city is truly a special experience. We liked the simplicity of the mess tent and especially the sheepskin throws on the camp chairs - very snug on a chilly Nairobi night! There was no menu, just a set evening meal which was excellent. After dinner, we sat at the camp fire sipping a cognac & listening to the night sounds. Our tent & bed were very comfortable, and it was a treat to find hot water bottles under the duvet. While drifting off to sleep, we could hear hyenas whooping nearby. We slept very well - always a good sign.
The camp is due to be refurbished so I hope they don't lose the "camping" feel. It would be good to see a tent that has a few extras for those with mobility problems, and a few longer beds for those who are over 6 ft tall! A great place to start your holiday in Kenya! (There is no swimming pool, hence no rating for this facility). Our only criticism of the camp is that the location is a bit gloomy - it is down in a forested hollow. On the other hand, this means that is is completely hidden from other visitors to the park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I returned to visit the Nairobi Tented camp after a couple of years and found it to be just as excellent as my first visit. The accommodation is luxurious, the food superb and I was treated like royalty by all the staff. Wonderful game drives and a truly memorable experience.
Once again this is a haven from the busy city of Nairobi and a well worthwhile visit for anyone visiting Kenya. I have been to other areas in Kenya but I will keep on coming back to Nairobi Tented Camp for the atmosphere, the service and of course the proximity to town and the animals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.3 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Property: Nairobi Tented Camp
Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing