We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nairobi Tented Camp
Ranked #1 of 237 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had the privilege to stay at Nairobi Tented Camp for one night at the end of August 2012. It has been a one of a kind experience in a totally wild setting! The friendliness and personal attention of the caring staff has never been seen before. I can only recommend this special place on earth to everyone. We'll be definately back one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrik_Guggisberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
65
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was booked into Nairobi Tented Camp by the operators of a Masai Mara safari as a way to make getting to Wilson Airport for the flight to the Mara easier. I had not read reviews so had no idea what to expect of a tented camp. No expectations I might have formed could possibly have matched the reality, from a welcome juice drink on arrival to a tent that was like no tent I have ever seen before -- full-sized and solid double bed and other bedroom furniture in one room, with a separate room (still in the same tent) for a bathroom with flush toilet, sink, and shower stall all built in. You do have to put in a request for hot water when you want the shower, but it's easy to do. Masai warriors accompany you as guards as you walk among the tents -- since lions have been known to saunter through the camp on occasion. Meals are gourmet-level, drinks of all kinds are available (included in some plans, but not in all -- best to inquire which is your plan if you didn't book yourself directly with them). They do morning and afternoon game drives with a sundowner at the end of the afternoon drive, While nobody can offer guarantees of what will be seen on such game drives, of course, our highly expert driver-guide did a great job of finding a surprising variety of game for us -- surprising only because from many places in the National Park the skyline of Nairobi is clearly visible. The camp managers while I was there were interim managers brought in while the permanent managers were on leave -- and ours were highly capable and highly personable. Highly recommended on all accounts. Sleep quality I'll rate a little low but for reasons that should add to its attraction: a lion was roaring nearby on occasion in the night. I can't comment on value for money, since the price was rolled into the cost of a week-long safari in the Mara which followed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msafiri_Hodari_Sana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nothing to say except: stay here! Preferably go straight after landing at Nairobi airport and immediately immerse yourself in the wonders of Africa's only capital-city-national-park, while enjoying the charms and luxuries of a proper tented camp in the middle of the wilderness! Excellent game drives and walks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StickyLicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is a very nice place to run away to when the hustle and bustle of the city get too much !! Accommodation is great - Tents are comfortable ( although the single beds are slightly short for tall people ! )
Food is excellent. Sitting round the fire at night listening to the sounds of the bush is magic - I recommend this 'city break ' !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had two nights here and would have loved to stay a little longer. The "tents" were very clean and comfortable, great beds and I heard a lion roar the first night. The food was excellent and would give many of our restaurants a run for their money.The staff very attentive and friendly. I cannot fault this place. We also felt very safe here. We did an early am safari and saw Black and White Rhinos and many other animals. It was also just a short drive to Sheldricks for our two visits. Highly recommend for a Nairobi stopover.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthlady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a 4 week African Holiday. We were not expecting much from the Camp nor indeed from the Nairobi National Park. How wrong we were. This was a remarkable oasis away from the bustle of Nairobi but yet only 30 minutes from the airport. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a great experience. Kelvin and the team looked after us in every possible way. It was so peaceful there, we did not want to leave. The food was great and then there was the park. Our guide Kevin says that the 10 lions we saw on our 2 safaris was unheard of. We ended our day watching a couple of lions as we enjoyed beer and wine in the safari vehicle. However dont ever go just for 1 night, you need at least 2 nights to feel completely relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Staying at NTC was initially just a good alternative to staying in the hustle & bustle of Nairobi - but turned out to be a privilege and delight to be there. After checking other reviews since coming home we can pretty much agree with everyones positive comments. Kevin, Francis & Kim & the masai staff instantly became our new best friends. Even the boggy, rocky roads & paths did not deter us - just added to the adventure. We will always have special memories of our visit.
Brian & Dee
Australia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drum59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.3 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Property: Nairobi Tented Camp
Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing