We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child-friendly safari experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nairobi Tented Camp
Ranked #1 of 287 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2011

My twin daughters (aged 5yrs) and I had a fantastic stay in the new tented camp in the middle of Nairobi Game Park. It gave us a real safari experience with top-rate service with none of the hassle and expense of getting to one of the larger but more crowded/well-known game parks. The accomodation was in luxurious tents, which the children loved. And the food and service was fantastic. Meal-times were moved to accomodate the children, and the Maasai 'askaris' who accompanied us everywhere to ensure our safety kept a constant eye on the children. We saw a fantastic amount of animals including lion, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, antelope etc. and we saw only two other cars the whole time we were on our game drives. It far exceeded my expectations, and I would recommend people with children, or on short stays in Kenya give it a go.

Room Tip: All the tents are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucyandgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 203 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is the place to stay if you love nature and want to stay outside the traffic and chaos of a bussy metropole. A short taxi ride from the airport or your meetings down-town, you can relax in your own tent with all facilities and an excellent personal service. Dinner was served while the sunsets and the sounds of the jungle developed around us. If you are interested you can take part in an early morning safari with an impressive diversity of wildlife. We enjoyed breakfast while the animals arrived at their favorite waterspot.

Room Tip: I enjoyed to stay in the tent closest to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soilscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

NTC is a perfect option if you would like to go on safari but don't want to drive too far, have small children who don't enjoy being jostled in the back of a vehicle and want to be sure to see game. In many ways it is better. We were totally alone on our game drives and were able to see and enjoy the game without worrying about another group of tourists arriving behind us - anyone who has been on safari elsewhere knows what a treat this is!

The camp is an oasis of space and greenery 15 minutes from the centre of Nairobi. It's almost hard to believe that the city is so close as you sit there watching a beautiful lion under a tree or an enormous rhino stroll across your path. The Tented camp is glorious and right up there with the best safari lodges in terms of comfort, luxury and attention to detail. We enjoyed fabulous meals and were totally spoilt by the wonderful staff. I thoroughly recommend it and encourage you to go

Room Tip: Just ask for a tent with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jomo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Nairobi Tented Camp is surely one of a kind; beautifully designed, constructed and orchestrated it is a hidden oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. Whether a seasoned safari goer looking to avoid central Nairobi or an African bush virgin looking to dip your toe, this camp is the solution. The en-suite tented rooms are the last word in glamping, the food and wine is fantastic and the staff seem to love the camp and love spoiling their guests even more. We stayed for one night and managed to fit in two game drives where we saw impressive amounts of game, plus drinks by the fire and a leisurely dinner in the atmospheric dining tent complete with the softest sheepskin seats I have ever come across. And when we finally retired to bed there were hot water bottles waiting, despite it being a mild eveing -heaven!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shararoutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

NTC is a great place to stay - a haven of tranquility in a crazy city, with incredible wildlife on the doorstep. We stayed one night with an early morning game drive and saw an abundance of animals - including rhinos, lions, giraffes, hartebeest, eland, buffalos, zebra..... The staff are hugely helpful and knowledgeable; the tents beautifully laid out; and food delicious. I would recommend a stay here to anyone spending time in Nairobi - tourists and residents looking for something special to do on the weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reviewer061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I spent the weekend at the Nairobi Tented Camp and would definitely consider going back. It was a fabulous experience and a perfect weekend retreat for someone working in Nairobi short-term and wondering what to do on the weekend. The camp itself is nestled in the wilderness, well hidden from the regular day-trippers to the park. I was picked up at the gates of the National Park and on the way to the camp, a lion crossed the road in front of us and two giraffes were spotted just off the road happily eating away at the trees. The staff at the camp are fantastic – friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful without being overbearing. The food is also delicious – full compliments to the chef. I did both an evening game drive and an early morning one and both were equally terrific. We saw buffalos, zebras, impalas, ostriches, lions, hyenas, giraffes, rhinos, heads of hippos (in the lake) and countless other birds and animals whose names I have already forgotten! The tents are spacious and comfortable and far more luxurious than one would expect of a tented camp. I would recommend the Nairobi Tented Camp to anyone who has a spare couple of days in Nairobi and who enjoys the outdoors.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJItalyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

What a fantastic week end we ha dat the Tented Camp doing Yoga, taking game drive, relaxing and eating delicious food. The staff is impeccable , lovely, helpful and discreet. The Park is ever so beautiful and we took a 3 hour sGame drive to see all the PArk has to offer with Giraffes, Lions, Buffalos and more. SO easy to get there and so hard to get out. You feel you have been so far away and yet can see the Nairobi life in the distance. Absolutely loved it. Best for a ROmantic night out too!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oriane_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
6.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,300 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
535 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,071 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 287 in Nairobi
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing