We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the most high tech hotel in Nairobi”
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Probably the most high tech hotel in Nairobi”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed a while ago, but enjoyed it. I stayed in a suite style room with a lovely bathroom. The buffet restaurant on the mezzo floor was excellent.

The only complaints were the water patches on the walls (probably plumbing issues) and having to go through a metal detector. Although when it comes to security I guess its better to be safe than sorry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Dan T,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to note that you had a lovely stay at our property. Our engineering team will look into the water patches you mentioned in the room you stayed as this is not evident elsewhere.

Our commitment to ensuring your safety and comfort is of paramount importance. We have strengthened our already stringent security measures; with the addition of luggage scanners to ensure search of all bags brought into the hotel, anti blast shatter films on our windows and are awaiting delivery of further equipment for detection to be added.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    271
    56
    32
    25
See reviews for
65
122
57
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Sankara hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in in Africa. The rooms are very clean and stuff are very friendly and professional. I enjoyed my very short stay there. The bar on the top floor has a good view of Nairobi too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shingai Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Shingai Sharon M,

Thank you for taking to write your review on our property; and for the wonderful remarks about our facilities and staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to experience the tranquillity of our spacious rooms and the stunning views from our rooftop Club and the Champagne Bar.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Loved my short stay at the Sankarahotel whilst in Nairobi. It's located in the Westlands area and is a short walk away from some good restaurants and bars. Great food, especially the dinner buffet. Check out the heated pool. Staff are really friendly and welcoming and the rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you could ask for. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nthabiseng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Nthabiseng M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your most recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us. I know the team will be hugely appreciative of your kind comments and will be even more engaged to exceed your future experiences with the Sankara Nairobi.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warm Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Sankara penthouse is the right choice for a business meeting mostly morning time. Good view, good selection of beverages, chill - out music and great comfortable sofas. And don't forget from the lobby to the pool area everything is so posh and stylish. Just enjoy then!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank davide n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear davide n,

Thank you for the very kind review of our property.

We are delighted to hear that you had a productive and enjoyable time at the Club Lounge utilizing the business facilities provided.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here for about 10 days on work travel. It was an ideal location since our office is in Westlands and I could walk. The hotel is really nice. The rooms are great and have all the amenities one would expect. The rooftop bar and pool are also great place to relax. There are a few restaurants in the hotel as well. I only ate there a couple times, but the food was good. They also have a small gym which was appreciated. I sadly didn't get to check out the spa but heard it's great. Even though it's a very nice hotel, you pay for it. I'm not sure what prices are like at other hotels in Nairobi, but this one caters to business people. I think if here for vacation one could search around a bit and find something slightly less fancy for a better rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skaballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear skaballet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had the experience of the authentic flavor of the new Africa.

We do monitor the prices on offer with similar quality establishments and have found to be well positioned by comparison for the overall product. Should you be travelling on leisure, please do look out for some advanced offers and weekend deals we have available.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in Nairobi soon.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Two day stay at the Sankara while on business in Nairobi. Pleasantly surprised at the standard of the hotel, the staff were exceptional equivalent or better than many 5 star Hotels I have stayed in. The bed- was exceptionally comfortable and room well appointed for the business traveller.

Breakfast buffet catered to all tastes the highlight being freshly made Kenyan coffee, a great start to the day.

Would highly recommend for business travel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SEM948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear SEM948,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted to note the high standards of service you experienced during your stay. Our Barristers’ will be delighted to hear your comments on our Kenyan coffee.

We hope you will be back to enjoy our hospitality and some more Kenyan coffee to start your days in Nairobi

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

it was worth my money, th gus at the pool bar were the best, they served me according to how i wanted. They have spacious, air-conditioned rooms all feature elegant, contemporary décor, a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and tea-and-coffee making facilities which make you feel at home but mine didn't have a bath tab, their bed are cosy and well spread. if you have an occassion they are ever read y to put to your taste. The gym is awesome, i wish to go back again may be during this march

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRACE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Grace W,

Thank you so much for your gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you will be returning to enjoy our hospitality this March; and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Please do let us know if we can be of any assistance with your forthcoming stay.

With Warm Regards

Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 165 in Nairobi
400 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 165 in Nairobi
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 165 in Nairobi
910 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 165 in Nairobi
1,142 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 165 in Nairobi
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing