We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sankara Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
$186
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$169
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$213
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$159
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$308
$260
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveler rating
607
298
60
34
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
298
60
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barartisan restauranttop floorthe club loungebusiness hotelwestlands areagreat businesssarit centrefirst floorbusiness travelmodern hotelfive star hotelwestgate mallbreakfast buffet ismain restaurantshopping mallrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in this hotel two nights (not consecutive) and had positive experiences both times. The staff if friendly, although had a little trouble understanding English. I was traveling with a friend (another woman) and we had requested two bed. After sending us to two different rooms (both with one king bed), we finally gave up and slept in the same bed. The bed was large and comfortable, so really not a problem!
We arrived late the first night, and were able to get room service - one of the best Indian meals I've eaten.
The location is good, although traffic can be bad in Nairobi at any time of day. We did not have trouble getting to the airport, as long as we allowed enough time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Nic110,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are always pleased to have feedback from our guests to review and improve the services we offer. Please accept our apologies for the incorrect allocation of bed preference on this visit.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. But since I can't its a 4, not quite enough for 5!

The rooms were excellent, clean, large and comfortable. Fresh flowers and fruit as well as travel toothpaste and shaver give it that little extra touch. Security is good, there are metal detectors and bags are checked as well. The restaurant was good and breakfast was quite satisfactory (although not the best I have had). The rooms come with bath and shower and most seem to have a good view (for Nairobi).

No complaints but for 5 stars I would have liked a larger TV, slightly better breakfast and a newer mattress. Nothing to complain about though.

I do want to point out that it is advertised as a 5 star hotel. To me it more felt like a good 4 star with a some extra touches.

Overall this is a great hotel, especially for Kenya. It comes at a cost (rooms and food) but provides a good space to feel comfortable, even for a few days.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank travelmate182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear travelmate182,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review; we appreciate your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities; and we are committed to ensuring your safety and comfort by heightening our already stringent security measures.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon!

With Warm Regards,

Moshi Perera, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Sankara. Like others, I arrives late, had a cry friendly, efficient check in, and nice assistance to my room. The room was lovely, clean with a nice closet/wardrobe with a safe, ironing board and iron, and really nice clothes hangers. There was a space to lay out luggage in addition to a separate luggage wrack ( nice for couples). The bed was big and comfy. I really likes the bedside lamp and separate reading light. The desk space was great with three plug outlets and a good overhead lamp. Plus it was next to the window/balcony. The staff were all very nice and very accommodating. Yes, the traffic is a challenge, but hey! Welcome to Nairobi! The decor is sort of Modern Africa, and I like it a lot. I will definitely come back to this hotel. Thank you so much. Sankara management and Staff! BTW, love the little figurines! Much better than mints.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank AzEmh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear AzEmh1960,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your most gracious comments about our hotel after your most recent stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon to enjoy the authentic flavor of the new Africa and continue your collection of the "Sankara Seven" turndown gift to add to your collection, we have 28 different hand crafted animals in total.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

great location, very good service, beautiful room, trendy bar and great food but some make your stay even better... Nelson at the restaurant will always make you feel home, the front desk renaldo will sort out all your issue with a big smile... Really I have to say that even me the demanding hotel diva I have nit much to say... very very good :) breakfast buffet is also very good...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akabeli2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Akabeli2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your wonderful remarks.

Both Nelson and Renaldo will be delighted to note that you enjoyed their hospitality during your most recent stay with us!

Thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home; and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon to experience their personalized services.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

If on business in Nairobi this hotel would be a perfectly good choice. Has all the modern amenities you would find in a five star property. Perfectly comfortable beds and super clean bathrooms. Terrific customer care and attention to detail.
The breakfast offerings a must try and the roof top bar for end of day relaxation. If you are on your way to Nairobi and decide to stay at the Sankara make sure the hotel car service picks you up from the airport. Clean, affordable and most practical.Traffic can be a disaster in Nairobi and the regular taxis even worse.
Best of all try the spa at the Sankara. World class!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear BobbyBatman,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 25th January 2014.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests; and delighted that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon, to enjoy the authentic flavor of the new Africa!

With Warm Regards,



Moshi Perera, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews