We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“the best, nothing to say about it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best, nothing to say about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

great location, very good service, beautiful room, trendy bar and great food but some make your stay even better... Nelson at the restaurant will always make you feel home, the front desk renaldo will sort out all your issue with a big smile... Really I have to say that even me the demanding hotel diva I have nit much to say... very very good :) breakfast buffet is also very good...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akabeli2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Akabeli2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your wonderful remarks.

Both Nelson and Renaldo will be delighted to note that you enjoyed their hospitality during your most recent stay with us!

Thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home; and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon to experience their personalized services.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    220
    47
    22
    18
See reviews for
49
105
48
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mclean, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

If on business in Nairobi this hotel would be a perfectly good choice. Has all the modern amenities you would find in a five star property. Perfectly comfortable beds and super clean bathrooms. Terrific customer care and attention to detail.
The breakfast offerings a must try and the roof top bar for end of day relaxation. If you are on your way to Nairobi and decide to stay at the Sankara make sure the hotel car service picks you up from the airport. Clean, affordable and most practical.Traffic can be a disaster in Nairobi and the regular taxis even worse.
Best of all try the spa at the Sankara. World class!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear BobbyBatman,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 25th January 2014.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests; and delighted that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon, to enjoy the authentic flavor of the new Africa!

With Warm Regards,



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

A very nice hotel in central Nairobi, with great rooms and all the modern facilities that the traveler could want or need for. Breakfast is a real treat with a wide variety at the buffet. I have to make special mention of an outstanding member of staff at the rooftop pool bar…barman Randy. Randy is a real gem of a character and made our stay at the Sankara very, very memorable! He mixes a great Whisky Sour (ask for the special Drambue and ‘iceball’ version) and we spent every evening until the ‘wee hours’ enjoying his hospitality at the bar! Will definitely be returning on our next visit to Kenya!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ampickeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear ampickeri,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your wonderful remarks.

Randu will be delighted to note that you enjoyed his bar-tending skills in mixing the best whisky Sour in town.

Thank you for choosing the Sankara as your home away from home; and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon to savour more of Randu's mixology.

With Warm Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

From walking in to walking out I had no complaints , food good service great Gym good. The staff should be commended on their service ethos which reflects on the management of the hotel.
The really nice touch are the figures left on your pillow instead of chocolates 'class'

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blacktorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear blacktorch,

Thank you for your very kind words describing the Sankara facilities and services.

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and your words serve as an inspiration for the team to strive to improve on the service delivery further.


We hope you travels will bring you to Nairobi again soon, as we are looking forward to welcoming you back!

With Kind Regards,


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have been travelling to Nairobi since 1998 and have stayed at many hotels in the city. This is by far the best. Its modern and finished to an excellent standard. The rooms have free wifi, flat screen TV, mini bar, air conditioning and huge comfortable beds. There is just nothing to fault. Check in was a pleasure and there was a nice welcome bowl of fruit in the room to greet me. The decor is superb throughout the hotel and its finished to a very high standard. Breakfast is a splendid buffet and you can choose to sit inside or outside. The price is about the same as many of the other hotels and this one knocks spots off them so I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel look nicely out into the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Graham D,

We are humbled by your most gracious comments on your most recent stay with us!

Thank you so much for the kind words which will be a source of further inspiration for our team.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; and we are looking forward to hosting you again in your next visit to Nairobi!

With Kind Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

It was just an amazing hotel!! Very clean and the staff was very nice! The chef was great and prepared good food. The rooms were nice and clean and I loved the modern feel with the bathroom. The pool was amazing, with a nice view of the city in the infinity pool! I had a great time!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrincessIsana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Princesslsana,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 8th January 2014.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us; and had a great time at our hotel!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Good hotel and very executive modern rooms. their breakfast has variety and menu is comprehensive. Unfortunately, I think they shall need to work on the staff especially in the restaurant and Housekeeping. Thy seemed to be unhappy and not really motivated. A good place, Just improve service delivery.

Room Tip: Our room was comfortable and the rooms facing the mall have better view
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Connor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Connor A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 7th January 2014.

Your feedback will go a long way in helping us improve on our services that we provide to our guests.

We hope that you shall accord us another opportunity to host you in the near future and extend our personalized service with the authentic flavour of the new Africa!

With Kind Regards


Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing