We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in nbo where 5star hotels are scarce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good hotel in nbo where 5star hotels are scarce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Good hotel, west lands location so if peak hours of traffic, ie 7am to 10 am and 4pm to 8pm, expect horrendous traffic to get to hotel from airport.

Nice hotel, nice food, and good location when no traffic.

Not the hotels fault re traffic... just something to take into consideration in case staying a night in nbo due to masai mara, like we did in November this year.

Alternative hotel near hotel and very nice is ole sereni which is recommended to stay or kill some hours like we did from wilson (to masai mara) to international airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear RG1978,

Thank you for your kind comments.

With the development of the road infrastructure underway, we do hope that the traffic problems will be resolved very soon; so that you can enjoy a traffic free stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

With Kind Regards



Moshi Perera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    220
    47
    22
    18
See reviews for
49
105
48
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gevelsberg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

great hotel in nairobi. clean, very good service. room well equipped, W-Lan available all around the hotel. restaurants and breakfast outstanding. no charge for any extras.
airport transportation is working well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlpe-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannnapolis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the roof top dining. The food was great and the staff was extremely accommodating. The vast wine selection from South Africa, France, and Spain added to the dining experience immensely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aanthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff and service, large room with all you need.
Spa is very good for massages despite European prices it is good after a long trip.
Swimming pool on the rooftop is nice but you are exposed to all the roof terrace cafe guests which is not the nicest if you want to just relax.
Only remark from a very demanding guest, the rooms are not spotless spotless with stains on the carpet, lamp in bad shape. Otherwise I do recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Palmiterro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear chachatralala,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 6th November 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our service, staff and the facilities.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed our spa experience with international spa brand Angsana at Sankara Nairobi.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

From the minute of my Late arrival I was treated like a special guest. The room had a fantastic view of Nairobi City that I never expected and was spotless and cleaned at least twice a day. The food was absolutely gorgeous, from Sundays brunch time buffets to evening dinners. The staff were very attentive and knew my name within the first few Days of being there. Parking was available for me Regardless the time of the day or night and nothing seemed any trouble to make my stay a good one. The bars were Fantastic and a good retreat for a drink in the evening as well as taking advantage of the big TV Screeners at the bars to watch my favorite soccer games while enjoying my drinks. I stayed at Sankara Hotel for two complete months and I proudly can say it is the best, based on my previous experience at the hotels I stayed in Nairobi. All in all, cannot fault ther place and would happily return, hopefully with some friends and family next year.

Room Tip: I stayed at the fifty floor the internet was fast and free. The view was fantastic. All rooms were w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jclayb7526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

In the heart of Westlands is a GEM that is magnificent. Great Food, Excellent Rooftop lounge for those evening sun downers. If you're in the mood for just a glass of wine you have a wide selection of wines from South Africa, France and Spain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I've stayed in a bunch of hotels, and I haven't seen anything that can match Sankara. From the elegance, to the cleanliness and friendly level of service (they even changed the beds in my room at my request with a smile), to the rooftop bar from which you see the whole of Westlands plus, to the initial welcome when you first get dropped off, to the breakfast quality, there was nothing about Sankara that didn't blow me away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing