We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel offers you a great stay with all the needed extras. The staff is very friendly and service is very good. Security is good but discrete. Located very centrally giving you the opportunity to see parts of Nairobi. Somewhat high priced.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mhumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    225
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
52
109
51
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I been to this palace in month of June 2011, its really nice hotel, Staff is very friendly and helpful,
Food is also good, Like to visit again. Like the interior of the hotel is really nice and "WOW"
Sea Food is very good in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shailesh n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel is egreat. The rooms, service, food and location are all excellent and I think you will struggle to find a better hotel in Nairobi. Stayed the night before at Southern Sun Mayfair as bookings were full at Sankara. It is like chalk and cheese. My only gripe would be that everything in the hotel is very expensive and was bit annoyed that I had to pay more than 5 dollars for a bottle of drinking water as they dont sell the smaller cheaper bottle even though they provide 2 bottles of the cheaper stuff to everyroom everyday. So if you run out of complimentary water just be prepared to ripped off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imraan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I wanted to stay for a longer period but it was full for the first four night I wanted but was very pleased I moved to the Sankara for the last four days of my visit.
Rooms are reasonably spacious and was pleased how light the room was so was able to work in the room. I had a room on the club floor so use of the club lounge which was convenient when I need a snack and to get out of the room for a while. Resturant on the seventh floor was pleaseant for a change ut sugest you book a table as certainly at the weekend was very popular though the friendly staff managed to fit me in. It is easy to access a number of malls in the area though of course the terrible events of Saturday 21st September occuring just a few days after I left was a real shock. Security at the hotel was very good and staff seemed very dilligent so will be happy to go back there again.

Room Tip: Club rooms very quiet and no external noise heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Paul H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 25th September 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our staff, service and facilities.

Our city has been deeply affected by the tragedy. We at Sankara stand by our community to mourn the loss and applaud the bravery of many. We are committed to ensuring your safety and comfort by heightening our already stringent security measures.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This turned out to be a decent location near the Sarit Center and the Undugu Fair Trade Shop. The room was very nice though perhaps a little cramped for the price and level of the hotel. The bathroom was very nice and included an in-room hair dryer, shower with multiple heads, and separate tub.
The spa included a nice fitness room, and the rooftop pool and bar was definitely picturesque.
We enjoyed the lunch buffet at Artisan, the less formal of the restaurants within the hotel, with great Kenyan tea, great breads, soups, and cheeses among the options - plus an awesome dessert bar. The food service was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the outdoor patio for dining was lovely.
Hotel service was outstanding, including the front desk/reception and the director of services Monica (the concierge).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosmo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My first impression of the hotel was wow! Very upmarket and trendy. The service was good although it felt a little commercial for me. The rooms were smart but rather small, given the price of $300 USD per night. The food was excellent, I ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. I recommend the view from the roof as its quite something. I would recommend this if your looking for real upmarket living.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in the hotel for 4 nights on their business executive room floor. Well designed room, though not that spacious. The staff are friendly and very professional. I like the fact that it's near to popular malls, bars and restaurants in Westlands. Security is also reassuringly tight.

I look forward to night time when they offer to turn -down the bed, they give these small and cute collectible animal figurines.

The only issue is the small and cramped front desk at the ground floor and a claustrophobic elevators.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing