We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in CBD”
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel for 4 nights on their business executive room floor. Well designed room, though not that spacious. The staff are friendly and very professional. I like the fact that it's near to popular malls, bars and restaurants in Westlands. Security is also reassuringly tight.

I look forward to night time when they offer to turn -down the bed, they give these small and cute collectible animal figurines.

The only issue is the small and cramped front desk at the ground floor and a claustrophobic elevators.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 930 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here for a week on business. Great hotel and would highly recommend. Friendly and efficient staff, very comfortable beds and great food. The breakfast is lovely and the hotel has a few restaurants that are great. I especially liked the Thai restaurant. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Kathleen M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 3rd September 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our staff, service, food and facilities.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Sankara 3 times over the past several months for business. There is never a question of where I will stay in Nairobi because of the excellent and helpful service of this dedicated and friendly staff. The hotel is conveniently located. Serene and comfortable rooms (especially on 2nd floor, overlooking the pool next door), very good business facilities, and excellent food (insane dessert bar, lovely cold drinks). From reception to rooftop the hotel is well appointed and comfortable. But what really makes the Sankara special is the staff - always professional, accommodating and eager to help. On one occasion, my colleagues and I had a 3 a.m. departure, and the staff arranged breakfast to go for us. On another, our trip was extended, and the staff did their best to try and find rooms for us for the duration during a very busy time. They even offered to check at the hotel next door on our behalf. On another occasion I was ill (nothing to do with Sankara) and the chamber maid came to check on me at turn down, saying she had heard I was ill and was there anything she could do for me. Last minute arrangements were made for us to make use of the board room when we discovered this was needed - a lovely space, rental included good food service at reasonable rates.The clientele appear to range from safari go-ers and tourists to business people from all over the world, including Kenya. And, the soapstone animals. As others have mentioned, this is a very sweet touch, and a much anticipated souvenir by my son when I return home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear LBR25,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 3rd September 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our service, staff and facilities.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed in the Sankara for a few nights (5th Aug 13) and absolutely loved the hotel!
The decor, the restaurants, the champagne bar on the roof, and the food.
The little touches as well made me smile, the hotel gave me a new soapstone animal (lion, giraffe etc) every day which I thought was the nicest gift I've ever had from a hotel....a really nice touch!!
The staff were lovely, and very elegant. Clearly alot of thought has gone into the detail of this hotel, and when I go back to Nairobi, this is where I'll stay.
Everyone should feel very proud to be part of a really special place to stay.
I hope you enjoy it as much as me, Adam (UK)

Room Tip: I was overlooking the main street four floors up which was beautifully presented and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Adam b,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 2nd September.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our decor, service, food and facilities.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.


With Kind Regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sankara represents the best ambiance you can get in any one place in Westlands. The lounge and bar have an excellent selection of drinks and an excellent relaxation. Very good chill out place. The wine list is formidable with exotic Italian wines. Service is also very good with knowledgeable and helpful staff.

Sankara is close to three major shopping malls and will give you ease of enjoying shopping in the city and westlands in particular. parking is also readily available in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Hjkenya,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 2nd September.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our ambience, service and facilities.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My visit to Sankara was amazing. The nightly turn down service with soapstone animal figurines was an very welcoming touch. The bellmen were extremely helpful and went of their way to help me. The location was very convenient; a very short jaunt across the street to Sarit Center or a block or two from Westlands mall. The fitness facility was well equipped for a quick vacation workout. Water was bottled and readily available in whatever quantity you require. I would stay here again if I ever get the chance to visit Nairobi again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Beth G,

Thank you for your review dated 24th August 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our ambience, service and facilities.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Great modern rooms, fresh coffee in the room, decent wifi, and excellent food choice!

The pool and gym offer good facilities and a range of equipment.

Excellent location in central Westland meaning you can walk to local businesses and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgoody41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
959 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
DusitD2 Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
432 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,181 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $205 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing