We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quite the host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quite the host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was there for a hosted party and it was quite good. The music was fantastic, the cocktail bitings and drinks were well selected and paired. The service was excellent and helpful. The facilities were pretty clean as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elenor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    236
    52
    24
    24
See reviews for
57
112
54
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in the Sankara Nairobi after a recommendation from a work associate. Loved it. The staff were friendly and efficient, the hotel well designed, the bar on the roof vibrant and the rooms perfectly balanced between size and function. For a business traveller like myself the wifi connection was effortless - staying connected even during power outages in Nairobi. The small sculptures placed next to your bed as a gift creates a very special touch as each night offers a different one, to a total of 6 little animal sculptures of beautiful design.

Only complaint I had was during check-in when I challenged why they needed to lock (pre auth) $500 on my card for my prepaid room. After some discussion they admitted the policy is to lock $50 per night, giving a total of $150 for my stay. We agreed on that amount and my bad experience ended right there. The stay itself was highly enjoyable and I was very satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
180 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

You always hear about classical hotels in town which i won't mention, but this one seemed to me the best option in town. Probably the location isn't the best in town, but the building has 2 or 3 years old, so it's clean and modern. As all they have security control at entrance. The lobby is small but modern with contemporanean pieces os furniture. My room, a standard one, was big enougth for me. Nice bathroom, with bath tube, separate shower and glass to room. The bed was large and very confortable. Nice desk area. The roof with the pool, bar and restaurant is a nice place to stay for a while before dinner. Gymn, spa are other options offered. The buffet restaurant was very nice and buffet ha excelent presentation. I did enjoyed my breakfast there, with good service and food quality.

Room Tip: make sure you spend some time at rooftop bar and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pays de la Loire, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Being lucky enough to live in Kenya, I have visited the Sankara several times, for drinks in the superb rooftop bar, lunch and a swim (again on the roof top) and most recently for a Graduation Dinner for the Year 13 students attending St Andrew's School, Turi.
The dinner was held on the first floor in one of the suites. We had a balcony reception, a full dinner service and a disco in an adjoining room.
The staff were efficient and friendly and the service was excellent. The room had been decorated beautifully and it was a joy to watch our students faces as they walked in to their Graduation party.
The food was quite stunning.The student and staff committee who arranged the Dinner had been given the chance to taste the various options beforehand and the Sankara had made every effort to ensure the evening they arranged for us was perfect.
Beautifully presented with a marvellous range to suit all tastes,we were delighted with a buffet which included a full Indian main course selection, a huge variety of salads and a choice of dreamy desserts and ice creams.
I have not stayed overnight at the Sankara but have friends who have stayed here and speak glowingly of the room and the service they received.

Room Tip: The Sankara is in Westlands so a a very central location. I must say I have never noticed noise, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueskenyatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent clean rooms with first world setup and service. The traffic in Nairobi can be quite daunting. Good to go back to a nice and relaxing environment. The amenities were as expected from a hotel is this caliber. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAquiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've stayed in the Sankara twice now and both times, it exceed my expectations. Above all, it's the service that stands out. Every single staff member is friendly and helpful and they consistently go above and beyond.

The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout the common areas and the rooms themselves. The rooms I've stayed in have been really nice, with very comfortable beds and completely quiet even though it is in a busy area of town. The only exception to that is when I was put on the 6th floor right below the hotel bar, which I could hear on a Friday night.

I would highly recommend this hotel - it is much nicer than any other I've stayed at in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor on a weekend night as you can hear the hotel bar until about 12:30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJDemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just left the Sankara an hour ago. Was there Three days. The place is beautiful, rooms are great but the service is terrible. The staff are either incompetent or just plain rude. Customer care is a lacking concept in most of the staff. This place is too good for such. Otherwise everything else was in order :|

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Kehriy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 25th May 2013 and thank you for compliments about our rooms.

We're sorry to hear that your experience was not to expectation and we did not deliver the standards we are accustomed to. Please accept our sincere apologies for the laps in standards. As part of our commitment to our guests we would value your feedback how we can improve on the services we offer from your recent experience. We look forward to hearing from you at press@sankara.com.

We do hope that afford us an early opportunity to restore your faith in the Sankara Nairobi soon. To this end please do not hesitate to contact us so that we can take care of all your requirements personally.

With kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing