We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've stayed in the Sankara twice now and both times, it exceed my expectations. Above all, it's the service that stands out. Every single staff member is friendly and helpful and they consistently go above and beyond.

The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout the common areas and the rooms themselves. The rooms I've stayed in have been really nice, with very comfortable beds and completely quiet even though it is in a busy area of town. The only exception to that is when I was put on the 6th floor right below the hotel bar, which I could hear on a Friday night.

I would highly recommend this hotel - it is much nicer than any other I've stayed at in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor on a weekend night as you can hear the hotel bar until about 12:30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJDemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    255
    54
    29
    25
See reviews for
62
120
56
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just left the Sankara an hour ago. Was there Three days. The place is beautiful, rooms are great but the service is terrible. The staff are either incompetent or just plain rude. Customer care is a lacking concept in most of the staff. This place is too good for such. Otherwise everything else was in order :|

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Kehriy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 25th May 2013 and thank you for compliments about our rooms.

We're sorry to hear that your experience was not to expectation and we did not deliver the standards we are accustomed to. Please accept our sincere apologies for the laps in standards. As part of our commitment to our guests we would value your feedback how we can improve on the services we offer from your recent experience. We look forward to hearing from you at press@sankara.com.

We do hope that afford us an early opportunity to restore your faith in the Sankara Nairobi soon. To this end please do not hesitate to contact us so that we can take care of all your requirements personally.

With kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is one of the best hotels in Nairobi for business, considering the facilities and location.

It only has two problems, the wifi conection is very poor in the rooms, and to walk around is not the safest place in the city.

Excelent Bar just 100 mts from the Hotel call Gipsy, very diverse, great music and food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at Sankara several times and every time I go I am pleased with the quality of the rooms and the restaurant as well as the roof top bar.

The design of the hotel is exceptional with magnificent lighting and attention to detail on every decoration from the lobby to the bars to the parking lots.

However the pricing is rather high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcan0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent a night at Sankara which is in a very busy Westland area, next to the biggest mall in Nairobi. The rooms were very modern and well-furnished with all modern amenities. The bathroom had a glass partition, which could be shuttered for privacy. The security on entry was efficient and polite. The breakfast included was fantastic. Such a variety of hot and cold meats, cheeses, baked products, eggs on order, fruits and juices. Service was courteous and friendly. If you want to be in the centre (horrendous traffic snarls to get from place to place) within walking distance to the biggest mall Westlands, & restaurants, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the 4 rooms we occupied were good. We asked for rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naniketki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business and held a conference there too. The rooms were modern and spacious and the staff helpful. We dined here and the food was excellent and the service too. The bathrooms were lovely but lack hooks for towels which was a big strange.

Room Tip: As to overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at Sankara on a stop over business trip.The hotel has taken great care to ensure security of its residents with cctv cameras everywhere and rigorous checks at the entrance even for known hotel guests which can sometimes be annoying.The rooftop bar has good service and so is the spa on the 7th floor. They must be having a great chef too on their restaurant on the 1st floor as the food is great. The cost of these services is however on the higher side on a comparative basis to similarly priced new hotels in the city.I found it surprising and pretty disappointing that they have different rates for different days and even for these rates these exclude breakfast for the weekdays. It was also pretty disappointing that even after checking in they did not disclose for me the full rates including taxes that I was expected to pay which amounted to a level of deception and totally unacceptable.Finally, I sought the intervention of the manager on an issue regarding my comfortable stay as a guest. His mien, and dismissive attitude and inability to resolve the issue, which ended up being resolved by someone way down the line after the same explanation left me deeply disappointed

Helpful?
1 Thank Blueflame73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Blueflame73,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 7th May 2013 and for your positive compliments about our service and spa, specially our food.

We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused during check in. The hotel is normally oversubscribed from Sunday - Thursday inclusive therefore we have a different rates as opposed to weekend Friday & Saturday where we able to provide a slightly lower rate. We are sorry to hear that this was not explained to you when checking in.

One of our guiding principles is integrity and unfortunately this was not felt when you sought the Manager's intervention. We are nevertheless grateful one of our stars, was able solve the issue. We have furthermore raised this concern with our rooms division manager in order to ensure that a corrective plan is put in place to avoid a recurrence in future.

We trust that the isolated experience has not deterred you from a return visit and look forward to welcoming you back to restore your faith in our management.

With kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing