We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is one of the best hotels in Nairobi for business, considering the facilities and location.

It only has two problems, the wifi conection is very poor in the rooms, and to walk around is not the safest place in the city.

Excelent Bar just 100 mts from the Hotel call Gipsy, very diverse, great music and food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    229
    49
    23
    21
See reviews for
54
110
52
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at Sankara several times and every time I go I am pleased with the quality of the rooms and the restaurant as well as the roof top bar.

The design of the hotel is exceptional with magnificent lighting and attention to detail on every decoration from the lobby to the bars to the parking lots.

However the pricing is rather high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcan0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent a night at Sankara which is in a very busy Westland area, next to the biggest mall in Nairobi. The rooms were very modern and well-furnished with all modern amenities. The bathroom had a glass partition, which could be shuttered for privacy. The security on entry was efficient and polite. The breakfast included was fantastic. Such a variety of hot and cold meats, cheeses, baked products, eggs on order, fruits and juices. Service was courteous and friendly. If you want to be in the centre (horrendous traffic snarls to get from place to place) within walking distance to the biggest mall Westlands, & restaurants, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the 4 rooms we occupied were good. We asked for rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naniketki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business and held a conference there too. The rooms were modern and spacious and the staff helpful. We dined here and the food was excellent and the service too. The bathrooms were lovely but lack hooks for towels which was a big strange.

Room Tip: As to overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at Sankara on a stop over business trip.The hotel has taken great care to ensure security of its residents with cctv cameras everywhere and rigorous checks at the entrance even for known hotel guests which can sometimes be annoying.The rooftop bar has good service and so is the spa on the 7th floor. They must be having a great chef too on their restaurant on the 1st floor as the food is great. The cost of these services is however on the higher side on a comparative basis to similarly priced new hotels in the city.I found it surprising and pretty disappointing that they have different rates for different days and even for these rates these exclude breakfast for the weekdays. It was also pretty disappointing that even after checking in they did not disclose for me the full rates including taxes that I was expected to pay which amounted to a level of deception and totally unacceptable.Finally, I sought the intervention of the manager on an issue regarding my comfortable stay as a guest. His mien, and dismissive attitude and inability to resolve the issue, which ended up being resolved by someone way down the line after the same explanation left me deeply disappointed

Helpful?
1 Thank Blueflame73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Blueflame73,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 7th May 2013 and for your positive compliments about our service and spa, specially our food.

We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused during check in. The hotel is normally oversubscribed from Sunday - Thursday inclusive therefore we have a different rates as opposed to weekend Friday & Saturday where we able to provide a slightly lower rate. We are sorry to hear that this was not explained to you when checking in.

One of our guiding principles is integrity and unfortunately this was not felt when you sought the Manager's intervention. We are nevertheless grateful one of our stars, was able solve the issue. We have furthermore raised this concern with our rooms division manager in order to ensure that a corrective plan is put in place to avoid a recurrence in future.

We trust that the isolated experience has not deterred you from a return visit and look forward to welcoming you back to restore your faith in our management.

With kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Coming from a Travel Agent who sees plenty of luxury hotels, this was by far one of the best I've stayed in. Room was fantastic - very modern and clean with uniquely African touches. Staff was phenomenal from check in to the waiters at the restaurant, very accommodating and pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite which had a huge bathroom and plenty of space to spread out with luggage and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindeeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good place, good food and nice location, if you want to stay in westlands, then its a good place.. traffic is very bad, so stay close to where you want to go. Coming back, the food is very good in the hotel and the service is also nice. The bed was too soft for my liking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhur_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing