We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Underwhelming Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Underwhelming Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at Sankara on a stop over business trip.The hotel has taken great care to ensure security of its residents with cctv cameras everywhere and rigorous checks at the entrance even for known hotel guests which can sometimes be annoying.The rooftop bar has good service and so is the spa on the 7th floor. They must be having a great chef too on their restaurant on the 1st floor as the food is great. The cost of these services is however on the higher side on a comparative basis to similarly priced new hotels in the city.I found it surprising and pretty disappointing that they have different rates for different days and even for these rates these exclude breakfast for the weekdays. It was also pretty disappointing that even after checking in they did not disclose for me the full rates including taxes that I was expected to pay which amounted to a level of deception and totally unacceptable.Finally, I sought the intervention of the manager on an issue regarding my comfortable stay as a guest. His mien, and dismissive attitude and inability to resolve the issue, which ended up being resolved by someone way down the line after the same explanation left me deeply disappointed

Helpful?
1 Thank Blueflame73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Blueflame73,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 7th May 2013 and for your positive compliments about our service and spa, specially our food.

We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused during check in. The hotel is normally oversubscribed from Sunday - Thursday inclusive therefore we have a different rates as opposed to weekend Friday & Saturday where we able to provide a slightly lower rate. We are sorry to hear that this was not explained to you when checking in.

One of our guiding principles is integrity and unfortunately this was not felt when you sought the Manager's intervention. We are nevertheless grateful one of our stars, was able solve the issue. We have furthermore raised this concern with our rooms division manager in order to ensure that a corrective plan is put in place to avoid a recurrence in future.

We trust that the isolated experience has not deterred you from a return visit and look forward to welcoming you back to restore your faith in our management.

With kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    224
    48
    22
    19
See reviews for
52
108
50
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Coming from a Travel Agent who sees plenty of luxury hotels, this was by far one of the best I've stayed in. Room was fantastic - very modern and clean with uniquely African touches. Staff was phenomenal from check in to the waiters at the restaurant, very accommodating and pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite which had a huge bathroom and plenty of space to spread out with luggage and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindeeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good place, good food and nice location, if you want to stay in westlands, then its a good place.. traffic is very bad, so stay close to where you want to go. Coming back, the food is very good in the hotel and the service is also nice. The bed was too soft for my liking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhur_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This review is only for the rooftop lounge and cocktails at the Sankara.

The rooftop offers the most excellent views of Nairobi while lounging by the pool on the top. Cocktails are excellent. My Tanqueray dirty martini was perfectly prepared, although it cost me close to $15 (wait, am I back in Chicago?). Come here for the views, stay for the cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked in by my business partner from Nairobi. I spend two nights in the great place. Truly a 5* hotel, fantastic spar.very central. Hotel is full with Americans from American embassy and UN headquarter...
Breakfast is big , but you have to wait forever for the toast that you have to do yourself, does not suit a 5* place.
The rooms are very comfortably and have a great desk to work on....
Staff is more than friendly. Will defiantly be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. Reasonable gym and nice roof top pool. Location seems to be not great. We were warned by staff not to go out on foot at night as it can be dangerous in the area. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 177MikeS177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Of all the hotels in Nairobi, Sankara is the only modern world class business hotel in town, other hotels are quite outdated, the bed is quite good and soft, but I prefer a bit harder, rooms are clean, but bathroom is see through, for couples is good but for friends not that good. Service is near perfect, only sometimes the staff respond a bit late.

Location is good near two large shopping malls, due to the mixed location, walking out at night is not that safe.

Overall experience is quite good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing