We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #10 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Sankara is a modern, comfortable hotel with good service overall. Check-in was smooth and the staff was very friendly and professional. I had a room on the 6th floor that was well appointed with a working desk, comfortable bed, great bathroom with shower and nice amenities. There is wi-fi in the rooms and common areas and a really good fitness center. I went up to the bar on the 7th floor which was really nice. It's open-air with a pretty good menu. Breakfast was very good; they have a full buffet with a good amount of choices. The one thing they can improve on is the check-out. (It took forever) I'd recommend the Sankara. It felt very safe and had everything that a business traveler would want.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    228
    49
    23
    21
See reviews for
54
110
52
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Certainly the best that I have stayed at in Africa, at any rate. Rooms are comfortable, staff are helpful, food is great, and the rooftop terrace is stunning. Nothing was too much trouble, and I really appreciated the little animal carvings which appeared in the room each day, they were lovely souvenirs of the trip.

I can't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my second visit to Nairobi and this time round i did not manage to stay at Sankara. I had traveled with my partner and we visited the bar by the rooftop. The band that plays on Friday is amazing, service was supper.

We will definitely visit again when in Nairobi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I usually connect though Nairobi from Paris but my flight always arrives around 8:30PM and I leave the next day at around 9:00AM. I have been doing that for a while (for work), and always staying at the Hilton hotel in town. So, on my last trip I decided to check out hotels suggestions on tripadvisor, that's how I found Sankara hotel.

Well, I was very impressed. I chose Sankara because the reviews were excellent but most importantly the restaurants were still open by the time I reached the hotel late at night. This was crucial to me because I had countless of nights at the Hilton where I was both starving and too exhausted to go out. So the cherry on the cake was that I was able to order breakfast in my room at 5:00AM before continuing my long journey. The only inconvenient is that, it takes a bit longer to get to the airport as the hotel is not in the city-center.

The service was excellent, the room was modern and clean. The food at the hotel restaurant was great.

I only have two regrets. First, it's just a pity that I was not with my other-half. Second, I was there for just 6 hours or so ... what a waste!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I tagged along with my husband for business and we stayed at the Sankara. The hotel indicates that it is a 5-star hotel on their website and I was pleased when I arrived to see that the hotel lived up to my expectations. We stayed in a spacious Jr. Suite and had access to the Club Lounge which offers free breakfast and a happy hour each day from 5-8. Housekeeping kept the room spotless and made sure the room was comfortable. The pool bar on the top floor was nice and had great food. I took advantage of the spa services and enjoyed every minute of my treatment. When plans changed, we had to extend our time in Kenya. We left the hotel to go on a safari and had to extend our stay at Sankara. At first they told us that they would not be able to accomodate the entire length of time we needed, but by the time we returned from our safari, it was all sorted out. I loved the attention to details that the entire staff seemed to have. The staff in the lounge knew exactly what kind of tea to bring me when I dined in the morning and what types of drinks I liked when I came to the lounge in the evening. Overall it was a pleasant stay and if I return to Nairobi, I refuse to stay anywhere else except Sankara.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with access to the Club Lounge to take advantage of the complimentary breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is new so great rooms, really great breakfast buffet. Dinner menu is also very good. They dont mind attending to special requests.

They have these 'Sankara Seven' a collection of seven animal stones which you get one on each day. So make sure you stay for 7 days :)

The beds I feel are little too bendy, so may not suit people with bad backs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely and very friendly staff, the hotel was very vibrant. When they found out we were on our honeymoon they placed the red roses every where, was really lovely touch curtsey of the lovely staff and the flower shop owner..

Definitely recommend the hotel and it's also in a great location everything is a walking distance or just a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing