We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Excellent Service”
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I tagged along with my husband for business and we stayed at the Sankara. The hotel indicates that it is a 5-star hotel on their website and I was pleased when I arrived to see that the hotel lived up to my expectations. We stayed in a spacious Jr. Suite and had access to the Club Lounge which offers free breakfast and a happy hour each day from 5-8. Housekeeping kept the room spotless and made sure the room was comfortable. The pool bar on the top floor was nice and had great food. I took advantage of the spa services and enjoyed every minute of my treatment. When plans changed, we had to extend our time in Kenya. We left the hotel to go on a safari and had to extend our stay at Sankara. At first they told us that they would not be able to accomodate the entire length of time we needed, but by the time we returned from our safari, it was all sorted out. I loved the attention to details that the entire staff seemed to have. The staff in the lounge knew exactly what kind of tea to bring me when I dined in the morning and what types of drinks I liked when I came to the lounge in the evening. Overall it was a pleasant stay and if I return to Nairobi, I refuse to stay anywhere else except Sankara.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with access to the Club Lounge to take advantage of the complimentary breakfa...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for Sankara Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 914 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is new so great rooms, really great breakfast buffet. Dinner menu is also very good. They dont mind attending to special requests.

They have these 'Sankara Seven' a collection of seven animal stones which you get one on each day. So make sure you stay for 7 days :)

The beds I feel are little too bendy, so may not suit people with bad backs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely and very friendly staff, the hotel was very vibrant. When they found out we were on our honeymoon they placed the red roses every where, was really lovely touch curtsey of the lovely staff and the flower shop owner..

Definitely recommend the hotel and it's also in a great location everything is a walking distance or just a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had a great experience at the Sankara hotel where I stayed on and off over my three weeks in Kenya. Great for business and families alike. The breakfast was out of this world and the Thai food was, wonderful, and unexpected! The location is also good if you are going to be working in Westlands. I highly recommend the Sankara.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rootfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed in the Sankara for 1 night before my honeymoon in Zanzibar. Was an Excellent atmosphere and checking was quick and efficient, Staff where friendly and polite. even though it was at 10:00pm. Having liven in Nairobi until i was 16 moved to the UK after, this was an new kind of experience in Nairobi for me . A Modern chic hotel. Rooms where amazing and the bathroom was excellent, had a view of the next door hotel so really did not feel like we where in a city. All in all have no complaints on this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ch4r4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed there several times, and exerience and service has consistently been good. Check-in was swift and friendly. Rooms are spacious, beds a very good, and the bathroom is excellent. Breakfast buffet is excellent, though gets dreary when staying a week or longer, as always the same. Agree with some reviewers that --whilst a nice setting-- the 7th floor bar is a bit over the top.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razzmatazz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Razzmatazz0,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 3rd February 2013 and for your positive compliments about our service and rooms, specially our spacious beds.

We have noted your views on our pool bar on the 7th floor. The design of the bar was done for the area to be versatile, unique and modern style so that one can relax and enjoy our wide selection of healthy fruit juices, cocktails and light poolside cuisine by day. At night Sarabi has become Nairobi’s premier place to relax in an alfresco setting, indulge in canapés sundowners and watch the world go by.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

All very modern and 'bling' but watch out for some ridiculous rules. We tried to have a beer on the 7th floor pool terrace, it was full so we were put in the 'Champagne Bar' (menu comes on iPads - bit cheesy, and you cannot deviate from the menu e.g. don't try ordering a gin martini..the menu say vodka martini and that is what you will have). In the Champagne Bar you cannot have a beer, even though we pointed out that they put us in there. Manager would not even contemplate it...bit childish and very unfriendly. That said their carpark is very nice....

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank NaughtyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 1st February 2013.

We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused at our Sarabi Pool & Supper club.

The bars were designed as two very separate venues/outlets whereby one can enjoy the open air atmosphere. Each offers a different distinctive experience with a unique theme for each outlet where we offer a specific menus suited to the style of the bar in both food and beverage.

The Champagne Bar has a carefully selected beverage list that is comprised of champagnes, champagne cocktails and an extensive array of the finest single malt whiskies integrated on IPADS; with a sommelier application for our guests to be able to learn more about the drinks on offer, tasting notes, food pairings and about the background of the brand of champagnes and Whiskeys. This rounded experience is unique in Nairobi and something our discerning clientele have found educational in the expanding thirst for knowledge of the food and wine culture in Nairobi.

We would like to apologise if this was not explained to you when seated. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Sarabi Pool & Supper club and our Champagne bar.

With Kind Regards,


The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#16 of 167 in Nairobi
408 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 167 in Nairobi
928 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $203 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing