We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Great Food”
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Sankara three times in December, between trips to the East Coast and Maasai Mara. Although it was on the opposite side of the city center from the airport traffic was not an issue because our flights were either on Sunday or very early in the morning. When we first arrived late, hungry, and tired the staff at Artisan restaurant were very gracious and accommodating. It was nearly closing time but they accompanied us around the sumptuous buffet making suggestions. When they found out our son was picky about food they offered to cook something for him. But it wasn't necessary, their buffet spread is 5-star. On a couple of other occasions I find that they are also very accommodating with other requests: when I wanted gingerbread cookies on Christmas eve and a complete set of their soapstone animals.
My only complaint had to do with the centralized AC. We stayed in three different rooms and each time we changed the AC settings to cooler temperature it remained at 23-24 C all night, that we had to sleep without the duvet. It would have been nice if there was a blanket sheet at least. We finally informed the hotel and the AC technician promptly showed up.
The other things we like the hotel and why we'd recommend it to friends: the rooftop pool, outlets for our laptop and iPad, comfortably soft bed, shower and tub, proximity to shopping centers (Sarit Center, Westland Mall, Nakumatt), and restaurants that we could simply walk to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go2net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for Sankara Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 914 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Food was good but at times we had to wait for our waffles/eggs at breakfast. We had a trouble with our hotel rates and the staff at front desk was most patient to understand our problem and help us sort it out.

Taxis near the hotel can charge you excess (but thats with any other hotel as well). The location is far from the city. Nice restaurants, pubs close by.

I would not mind visiting Sankara again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikunjShrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited the roof top bar in the evening for drinks and shisha, the view is amazing
and i love the glass bridge!
Great place to go with a group of friends and the crowd was 25+.
I heard the spa is amazing and will book there next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reenzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I travel extensively for work and pleasure and I enjoy the creature comforts, for me excellent food can overcome almost any other shortcoming a hotel might have.

If your tummy is full and happy, the noisy neighbor is less of a problem.

Sankara is excellent in all respects, the food is amazing, decor and service excellent, and the gym has a fantastic view if the entire neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Received an email with the offer for New Year for Sankara. Was very excited and speedily made our way to the hotel to make the necessary booking. This is where he epic saga begins. At reception we were requested to make the booking on the first floor. Got in the lift and went to first floor. On first floor informed they were only taking reservations for the restaurant and not the rooftop. Requested to go to the seventh floor to make the rooftop booking. Back on the lift and up to seventh floor. At seventh floor told all we could do was choose a table and go back to reception to make the payment. Further on making the payment on seventh floor the supervisor advised that we come back to seventh floor with the receipt as proof of payment. Confused? More like totally flabbergasted at this point.

So picked a table, Kes 15,000 per couple (Kes 30,000 for two couples) back inthe lift to reception to make the payment. At reception told to go to first floor (deja vu). When we refused the person from first floor came to reception and asked us to accompany her to seventh floor to make the payment. At this point it was clear the staff had not received the 'memo' regarding the new year arrangements. Did I forget to mention that the 'manager' from first floor informed us that it was Kes 15,000 per person?

Anyway, totally confused we decided to go to the bar to sort out the facts. Got a couple of drinks and decided to ask the waiter if we could reserve a place at the bar for new year. She gladly said yes. Stayed a little while longer in the knowledge our plans were now back on track. Upon paying the bill, we requested to make the reservation, at which point the same waiter calmly informs us that we cannot make a reservation at the bar.

Clearly Sankara is not in need of our money or our patronage. So, plan B kicked in which, surprise, surprise, does not include Sankara in any shape or form.

What a disaster considering what good service we have previously received from this establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Turgoik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Mr.Turgoik,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 30th December 2012.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Every festive season, we ensure that we have a desk at the reception who expedites on enquiries,payments and bookings.

We have furthermore raised this concern with our food & beverage manager in order to ensure that a corrective plan is put in place to avoid a recurrence in future.

We would be grateful if you could contact Justin Simpson, our food & beverage manager on justin.simpson@sankara.com so that you afford us an early opportunity to restore your faith in our services and facilities.

With Kind Regards,


The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Man one of the best hotels in Africa, It has a pool on the roof, with a glass floor that allows u to see the street at the bottom.. pretty pricey $$ for a 19yr old, but well worth it.. The staff were good, place was spot less, had an amazing time being

Room Tip: . hint, id pic the middle room close to the other hotels pool..
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gratiasxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at the Sankara for business for several days. The staff was great across the board: check in, security, concierge, restaurants, spa, bar etc... Rooms were nice and beds were comfortable but the carpets really need to be cleaned. I wouldn't walk around in bare feet. The restaurants were great - food was very good. Loved the Thai restaurant. Roof top bar was nice. I didn't like the fact that pool was right in the middle of the bar and restaurant - would have been nice to have a little more privacy around the pool. The conciege was great at recommending restaurants and setting us up with a travel agent for a weekend safari. We also used the hotel car service daily. They picked us up at the airport, drove us to the office, etc. and were very reliable...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#16 of 167 in Nairobi
408 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 167 in Nairobi
929 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $203 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Prestigia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing