We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Pretty Ballin/dardy place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Ballin/dardy place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Man one of the best hotels in Africa, It has a pool on the roof, with a glass floor that allows u to see the street at the bottom.. pretty pricey $$ for a 19yr old, but well worth it.. The staff were good, place was spot less, had an amazing time being

Room Tip: . hint, id pic the middle room close to the other hotels pool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gratiasxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    224
    48
    22
    19
See reviews for
52
108
50
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at the Sankara for business for several days. The staff was great across the board: check in, security, concierge, restaurants, spa, bar etc... Rooms were nice and beds were comfortable but the carpets really need to be cleaned. I wouldn't walk around in bare feet. The restaurants were great - food was very good. Loved the Thai restaurant. Roof top bar was nice. I didn't like the fact that pool was right in the middle of the bar and restaurant - would have been nice to have a little more privacy around the pool. The conciege was great at recommending restaurants and setting us up with a travel agent for a weekend safari. We also used the hotel car service daily. They picked us up at the airport, drove us to the office, etc. and were very reliable...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in the Sankara for a week upon relocating to Nairobi. We had booked a club king room at a corporate rate, which came with breakfast and club lounge access (recommended!). Room was nice though it felt a bit small (perhaps that was because we had a ton of luggage and nowhere to store it?). I love love love the bathroom - excellent design and layout. Wish I had that bathroom at home! Hotel itself is quite luxe with good facilities - gym, club lounge, rooftop pool and bar, restaurant, bakery/coffee shop, etc. The staff is generally incredibly friendly and helpful! The hotel is still doing some construction out front which isn't great but such is progress. The location is excellent - within Westlands so near by restaurants, clubs, etc. It's also walking distance to both the Sarit Center and the Westgate Mall.

My only complaint (and it's incredibly minimal) was that we missed our last soapstone animal (in the Sankara Seven) for some odd reason. The last full day we were there no one cleaned our room or came for the turn down service so we missed out on the little treat we got daily. I mentioned it to guest services and to the front desk but no one offered to help us out with that, unfortunately.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was my second time dining here and we found the hotel parking space was full due to some event being held by some company. The security detail were nice enough to direct us to an alternative area we could park and even went ahead to pay the parking fees for us.

First time we went to the sarabi pool club-it's an open roof top club like design; cocktails were amazing!food was very good though small portions.music was good too not too loud...we loved it.Classy and chic.

Second time we dined at the Artisan restaurant i think.it's on the first floor.food was buffet.exceptional service...very friendly chefs manning the food stations.food was amazing.The cocktail though i had down here tasted more 'dilute' than the same kind i had at the sarabi club.quite disappointed in that.

The management though should advertise when there's big functions at the hotel to save people from moving all the way across town to dine only to find the place full.

The bill delayed to be brought to us.

Will definately go back.

Room Tip: if you want to hang out not really dine go for sarabi pool club.Helps to have a reservation in advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrembo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Love this hotel: common areas are stylish and chic and the room is lovely and very comfortable. The bedding is one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced, like sleeping on a cloud. In-room dining very good. Well-equipped gym, helpful business center, complimentary wireless that's fairly fast, excellent service all-around, cleaning of rooms could be of a bit higher standard (for instance carpets obviously need an update or cleaning). i really like the feel and vibe of this place and will return for sure when i next come to nairobi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciam2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Well-located and with good taxi services available. Rooms and layout are modern and functional. The restaurants are very good with a good choice of cusine, the food is good and desserts are excellent. The top-level pool bar is worth a visit. Wireless internet throughout, a bit slow but workable. The check-in process is a bit slow, that would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear ASR2009,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 14th December 2012 and for your compliments about our restaurants and food, specially our desserts.

Please accept our apologies for the slow experience during check in, our normal check in standard is less than 5 minutes. We have raised this with our front desk manager in order to improve the efficiency.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the Sankara for a night on the way back from the Seychelles and enjoyed the hotel a great deal. It is modern and well appointed and the food was pretty good. Although this hotel has aspirations to be five star it still seems to be a bit of a work in progress. There was major construction immediately outside the front of the hotel which was disruptive and noisy and the service was ok but uneven. The roof top bar and pool were pretty cool. Also, it’s a bit of a long from the airport as it is north of the city center. Overall, a fun place to have tried but really not worth going out of your way for. Next time it’s back to the Norfolk for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear PJT ,

Thank you for your review dated 8th December 2012 and taking time to write this review.

First and foremost thank you very much for your compliments about our rooftop bar, food and interior.

We are currently renovating our external parking for the hotel. The landscaped area along with the higher perimeter wall modifications, will enhance the arrival experience and improve the flow of traffic and security for our guests. The works are being undertaken with our guests in mind and sincerely regret that your arrival experience was not up to expectation.

We are also pleased to confirm that the areas outside the entrance have now been opened up completely and the adjacent Woodvale Gardens parking for Sankara will be opened next week.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing