We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Business Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nungwi, Tanzania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Business Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently enjoyed a three night stay at this terrific city property. The rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast buffet is amazing and the staff throughout are exceptional! They are attentive without being intrusive, kind without being "smarmy" and absolutely nothing was too much trouble.

The room was quiet, the internet service was free, easy to connect and surprisingly fast. The bed was very comfortable, I'm only sorry that I didn't take the time to try out the "Pillow Menu" which included some very exotic choices!

We were attending a function at the Sarit Center and the location next door could not be more convenient. Unfortunately the current construction meant that you had to walk around the block, but once that is done, the location for this purpose will be terrific.

The boutique is terrific, carrying some unusual items and everything locally crafted. I was impressed that the woman on duty knew the source of so many of their products and was proud to discuss them with me. They carry a number of items made by the less fortunate with the proceeds going back to the group. Not only great products, but excellent community involvement!

My only disappointment was with the room service dinner. The bread on the bottom of the club sandwich was wet and the creme brulee unfortunately awful. I think that my disappointment was compounded by the fact that breakfast had been so wonderful, I expected a fantastic dinner and it really wasn't.

Even with the room service problem, I would happily stay at the Sankara again. The hotel is lovely, but the exceptional service from the staff is what makes it really special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    236
    52
    24
    24
See reviews for
57
112
54
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a great hotel, spacious room and excellent facilities. The restaurant prepares some awesome food and breakfast offers a wide variaty. I would recommend the hotel to any traveller. Friendly and very helpfull staff. Sankara would see me again when i travel to Kenya.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ja'nel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow. Was I blown away after entering the hotel. There is still some construction work going on outside but the inside is fantastic. Spent a few nights and enjoyed the experience. Great service, lovely food, very clean and comfortable rooms. Wifi available and ash to log in. Great staff, always willing to help. The breakfast selection was very nice and well cooked and tasty. The mushrooms are to die for.

Room Tip: Nice and airy room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azikag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel pays attention to detail; free wifi in the rooms, classy interior design, great service, great restaurants, good location, and a nice rooftop bar/lounge/pool area.

Weekend rates are excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a great new hotel in Nairobi if you are staying for more than 1 night...The hotel was clean and modern and had great facilities. Very comfortable bed and room and quiet. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. Staff very warm and welcoming and very helpful.

If you are only in Nairobi for a stop over of 1 night then please beware that traffic is so bad in Nairobi and between the airport and this hotel are 5 major roundabouts (one more roundabout than some other city hotels) which during peak-hour traffic can mean a trip between the hotel and the airport can take over 1.5 hours instead of 20 minutes in non-peak time. Other than the location from airport, I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiDiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gujarat
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Sankara Hotel for 2 nights.The rooms were modern and very good.The rooftop bar/pool area is very enjoyable. The breakfast are very generous and good. Restaurants superb.
Overall, was an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanujpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here only one night before safari and one night after but my kids loved it! Rooms are so beautiful and comfortable, and staff very friendly..my only suggestion would be to have some children channels on tv....you had to buy movies because they have nothing for my kids to watch...
Love it! (Also so close to shopping malls in case you need something)
They also have a terrace bar by the pool on the 7 th floor, so nice at night

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabs g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing