We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you in Nairobi for more than 1 night”
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a great new hotel in Nairobi if you are staying for more than 1 night...The hotel was clean and modern and had great facilities. Very comfortable bed and room and quiet. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. Staff very warm and welcoming and very helpful.

If you are only in Nairobi for a stop over of 1 night then please beware that traffic is so bad in Nairobi and between the airport and this hotel are 5 major roundabouts (one more roundabout than some other city hotels) which during peak-hour traffic can mean a trip between the hotel and the airport can take over 1.5 hours instead of 20 minutes in non-peak time. Other than the location from airport, I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubaiDiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 930 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Sankara Hotel for 2 nights.The rooms were modern and very good.The rooftop bar/pool area is very enjoyable. The breakfast are very generous and good. Restaurants superb.
Overall, was an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanujpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here only one night before safari and one night after but my kids loved it! Rooms are so beautiful and comfortable, and staff very friendly..my only suggestion would be to have some children channels on tv....you had to buy movies because they have nothing for my kids to watch...
Love it! (Also so close to shopping malls in case you need something)
They also have a terrace bar by the pool on the 7 th floor, so nice at night

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabs g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

After a long drive from the airport in chaotic traffic, and having got into the lobby having gone through airport style security it was relaxing to be in a safe and comfortable hotel. Check in was efficient and it was a few minutes before I was in my room. The bed was large and inviting. The bathroom layout was unusual but excellent with both shower and bath. The room was quiet and secure. Bed, duvet and pillows super comfortable. Roof top bar was a great place to relax after work. Tapas snacks were perfect. I would recommend the coffee bar on the first floor for excellent Kenyan coffee in a cafetiere. Great pastries too. Only complaint was the carpet in my room was dirty. Top tip? Go for the highest floor, the views are amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What really sold me on the place was the little soapstone animals in lieu of chocolates with the turndown service. Too cute!

Good little gym; quiet air conditioning fully guest-controlled (just as well, since it's often not really necessary in Nairobi); fast service when my room safe needed its battery replaced; an easy walk to local malls; attentive concierge and porter service with links to a reliable limousine taxi service as well; excellent security (for example, room key required to access the elevators); comfortable bed, lighting and bathroom.

Breakfast buffet was lavish, but also lavishly priced -- after I realized it was $25, went elsewhere. Would not really have wanted to use the glass-bottomed pool on the top floor though no doubt there are people who like that kind of thing, and who also want to perform their laps in front of the cocktail crowd.

A very good hotel in Nairobi if the company is paying for your room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been in Kenya almost 3 times and i have been having my accommodations either at stanley hotel or fair view hotel; after having searched carefully through the internet i came across the sankara Hotel , i did drop an e mail to Big Time Holidays limited who is my local operator asking more about this hotel (sankara) the response from them was very positive towards the sankara hotel. I was booked there for two nights and we found it very comfortable with great staff who were always willing to help at no fee. I have to give the sankara a credit because i left my money belt in my room unknowingly as we were leaving for a trip for maasai mara which we did book through Big time Holidays ltd and when i phoned the reception after almost an hour i was informed that it is safe and it is under lock and key with the hotel. thank you very much sankara. i recommend this hotel and Big Time Holidays ltd to all.
Balcels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blcels_2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice over the last 2 weeks. Once when we arrived in Nairobi for the start of our honeymoon and then again before we left Kenya on the flight to Zurich.

On our first stay we booked the honeymoon special and had an absolutely marvelous suite with a gigantic bathroom. We loved the free standing tub!

The staff is super attentive and nice - you feel immediately welcome here!

One mistake we made was to have the breakfast on our first stay at the Club Lounge. Yes, it's more private and quiet, but the food selection at the Artisan restaurant is better. Depending on your needs you might be better of just using the regular restaurant.

On our second stay we've spent only one night before flying back home so we booked just a regular room, which also turned out to be spacious with an impressive bathroom.

On Saturday the restaurants of the Sankara feature a brunch with the widest selection of food I've seen in a long time. Absolutely amazing and delicious. If you are not staying at the hotel, at least drive over there on a Saturday for the Brunch!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
959 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
DusitD2 Nairobi
#15 of 169 in Nairobi
430 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,181 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $205 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing