We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Luxury Hotel in Nairobi”
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Modern Luxury Hotel in Nairobi”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The rooms were excellent, the breakfast was amazing! The rooftop bar/pool area is very upscale. Overall, was an excellent hotel. Very modern, and the rooms had all the amenities you can ask for. Did not eat dinner there, but have a nice couple restaurants nearby. Would be considered a nice higher-end hotel in the United States easily...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fire14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    268
    55
    31
    25
See reviews for
64
122
57
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The exterior and location of the hotel is not the most attractive. There is some construction work going on an the front of the hotel is surrounded by yellow corrugated iron. However, don't let this put you off it improves significantly. My stay at the Sankara was my first having tried many others and being a regular at the Nairobi Serena. There is a good level of security on entering the hotel both by car and on foot. The lobby is spacious, bright and airy. I checked in late at night and perhaps this wasn't the best time as there was only one receptionist on the front desk dealing with multiple issues. This could improve. 

The rooms are of reasonable size modern and spotless far more than I was expecting. Large full size picture window although the view from the room was not much to shout about. Decent sized flat screen tv on the wall and a DVD player available. There is a work desk in the corner with multiple power sockets capable of supporting a range of UK and continental plugs. Internet cables are provided but there is also wi-fi in the rooms, and best of all it's free and reasonably stable although applications such as Skype drop out now and then. Good sized bed which was surprisingly comfortable. Turndown service available and free bottled water is well catered for. A pleasant touch is a small gift of a soap stone animal which makes a change from the useless nighttime chocolate. The bathroom was very good compact but not cramped. Separate walk-in shower and bath tub. There is also a good provision of amenities in the bathroom. There's a decent size wardrobe with a good sized safe box. The air con can be quite noisy at night if it's on full which is a nuisance.

There is a roof top pool with good seating area around it with a bar and separate champagne bar. Prices at the bar were reasonable. Didn't try the champagne so can't comment. Unfortunately the place appears to be a fashionable watering hole for noisy youngsters which gets a little irritating. There is a small but modern gym with decent equipment. There is also a spa with a variety of treatments available.

There is a selection of restaurants catering for most tastes and prices were reasonable, however, I thought the buffet breakfast was expensive.

Staff were very helpful and courteous throughout and Eric in the restaurant does a fine job!

The Sankara is well worth a try and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. I would definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel to others. 

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Sankara Nairobi in August, 2012, as a launching point for a safari vacation. Given that we traveled to/from Nairobi from San Francisco to say that we were exhausted upon our arrival would be an understatement. The Sankara was truly an oasis, and we loved our stay there. The hotel is modern and very comfortable - the rooms are very well appointed and the shower helped revive us. We got massages at the excellent spa and that completed our recovery from the long journey. Security is very present and you always feel comfortable at the Sankara. The rooftop pool and bar are very cool - I only wish we had more time to enjoy them. We enjoyed several of the dining options and all were excellent - the buffets are loaded with way too many options (this is a good thing!) - and you can get fresh items (fish, steak, eggs, etc.) made to order as well. We also tried the pan-Asian restaurant, and it was as good or better than the Thai restaurants we enjoy here at home. A special mention for Johnson in the restaurant who took extra special care of us.

I would definitely recommend a stay at the Sankara. If we are lucky enough to travel to Kenya again, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engine32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Overall a very good stay here. The rooms are very nice, bed is comfortable, etc. Nothing to complain about at all.

The rooftop bar is very popular and is a great place to get a drink. There are a couple different restaurants with different menus and price points but all offer a very nice dining experience and good food. There is also a great coffee bar/pastry counter for in the morning. The hotel is also in a trendy area, in walking distance to many other dining options.

There is also a nice, if somewhat small, gym on the top floor.

Also, as many are concerned about security in Nairobi: the security here is excellent.

Overall it was a great experience with only two complaints:
- I arranged an airport transfer with the hotel in advance. However, when I arrived there was no one from the hotel there and when I called, they didn't seem to have a clue. Furthermore, they didn't seem to be at all apologetic or offer anything to make amends for their screw up. This left things starting off on a very bad note, however, fortunately everything else went well.
- The hotel rates can get quite pricey, and while the experience is one of the best you can get in Nairobi, there is definitely better value to be had at some of the other business hotels.

One other note: The Deluxe Rooms don't offer much over the Superior Rooms so I wouldn't bother paying to upgrade your room to a Superior one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Patrickdward,

Thank you for your review dated 15th August 2012 and taking the time to write this review.

First and foremost thank you very much for your compliments about our rooftop bar, restaurants, menu offerings and our gym.

We are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused on your airport transfer and apologize for the difficulties experienced. However, we do assure you that we have raised this with our transport provider in order to avoid a recurrence.

We would also like to assure you that the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort and also appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi.

With Kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza, Tanzania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. Service was great. Staff very attentive. However the lobby feels eerily quiet and deserted!! Rooms were tastefully decorated however bathrooms (specially the shaving mirrors) are not very well placed. The upstairs bar area is very nice to have an evening drink and the service was impecable!! Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Kunal16,

Thank you for your review dated August 15th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review.

Thank you for your lovely compliments about our rooms, staff and service. We have tried as much as possible to combine five-star international standards with personal service and authentic flavour of the new Africa.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After traveling in Africa for a month with my husband, we stayed at the Sankara Hotel for 2 nights in Kenya. We could not have been happier with this decision! The hotel is gorgeous and very modern. There is security outside the hotel and security throughout the hotel. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the bar up at the pool in the evening. The breakfast buffet was great. Our room was clean and in working order. We would stay at the Sankara again when traveling to Kenya!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiphol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Not reviewing the hotel, but the SPA facilities at the hotel.
Apart from the very nice lobby area of the hotel, the reception area of teh spa is also very welcoming. I have been there several times to enjoy a Javanese massage.
Clean, comfortoable, very well equipped, reasonably prized! Always happy when it is time a again for a treat! Spa manager very professional!

Only setback: one is not allowed to use the swiming pool, same is for hotel guests only

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Algorab,

Thank you for your review dated August 12th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet & exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your lovely compliments about our Angsana Spa.

We are also delighted to advise you that we have recently introduced day use package at our Health Club which includes personal training, steam,sauna and use of swimming pool. For more information, please contact healthclub@sankara.com

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
385 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,118 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 164 in Nairobi
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing