We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business property in Nairobi”
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great business property in Nairobi”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Overall a very good stay here. The rooms are very nice, bed is comfortable, etc. Nothing to complain about at all.

The rooftop bar is very popular and is a great place to get a drink. There are a couple different restaurants with different menus and price points but all offer a very nice dining experience and good food. There is also a great coffee bar/pastry counter for in the morning. The hotel is also in a trendy area, in walking distance to many other dining options.

There is also a nice, if somewhat small, gym on the top floor.

Also, as many are concerned about security in Nairobi: the security here is excellent.

Overall it was a great experience with only two complaints:
- I arranged an airport transfer with the hotel in advance. However, when I arrived there was no one from the hotel there and when I called, they didn't seem to have a clue. Furthermore, they didn't seem to be at all apologetic or offer anything to make amends for their screw up. This left things starting off on a very bad note, however, fortunately everything else went well.
- The hotel rates can get quite pricey, and while the experience is one of the best you can get in Nairobi, there is definitely better value to be had at some of the other business hotels.

One other note: The Deluxe Rooms don't offer much over the Superior Rooms so I wouldn't bother paying to upgrade your room to a Superior one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Patrickdward,

Thank you for your review dated 15th August 2012 and taking the time to write this review.

First and foremost thank you very much for your compliments about our rooftop bar, restaurants, menu offerings and our gym.

We are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused on your airport transfer and apologize for the difficulties experienced. However, we do assure you that we have raised this with our transport provider in order to avoid a recurrence.

We would also like to assure you that the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort and also appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi.

With Kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    269
    55
    32
    25
See reviews for
64
122
57
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mwanza, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. Service was great. Staff very attentive. However the lobby feels eerily quiet and deserted!! Rooms were tastefully decorated however bathrooms (specially the shaving mirrors) are not very well placed. The upstairs bar area is very nice to have an evening drink and the service was impecable!! Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Kunal16,

Thank you for your review dated August 15th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review.

Thank you for your lovely compliments about our rooms, staff and service. We have tried as much as possible to combine five-star international standards with personal service and authentic flavour of the new Africa.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After traveling in Africa for a month with my husband, we stayed at the Sankara Hotel for 2 nights in Kenya. We could not have been happier with this decision! The hotel is gorgeous and very modern. There is security outside the hotel and security throughout the hotel. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the bar up at the pool in the evening. The breakfast buffet was great. Our room was clean and in working order. We would stay at the Sankara again when traveling to Kenya!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiphol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Not reviewing the hotel, but the SPA facilities at the hotel.
Apart from the very nice lobby area of the hotel, the reception area of teh spa is also very welcoming. I have been there several times to enjoy a Javanese massage.
Clean, comfortoable, very well equipped, reasonably prized! Always happy when it is time a again for a treat! Spa manager very professional!

Only setback: one is not allowed to use the swiming pool, same is for hotel guests only

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Algorab,

Thank you for your review dated August 12th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet & exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your lovely compliments about our Angsana Spa.

We are also delighted to advise you that we have recently introduced day use package at our Health Club which includes personal training, steam,sauna and use of swimming pool. For more information, please contact healthclub@sankara.com

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a great place to stay! New, clean, pristine condition...Top notch service from the greeters to the front desk, to the room attendants, to the restaurants and the lounge/patio/bar. Super friendly, helpful, courteous staff. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this world class hotel to anyone! Can't wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: They all look good...everyone in our group was happy with their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Richard T,

Thank you for your review dated August 8th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review and lovely comments.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted to note that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet and exceed your expectations.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Kenya. Stayed in Nairobi for 2 nights at Sankara. This hotel is a gem in a crazy city. My husband and I arrived late at night, but check in was quick and easy. Our bags were were taken to our room for us. The room was modern, clean, and updated. After a long flight it was a nice to fall into a cozy king size bed. Close inspection of the room shows that there are some cosmetic issues with paint, fixtures, wall paper, etc., but nothing major. The bathroom was a decent size with separate bath and walk in shower. The personnel are excellent and will go out of there way to ensure that you are happy and comfortable. The restaurants are also very good, especially Muhibbah (excellent Thai food). Artisan has a decent breakfast buffet. There is a lot of construction around the hotel, but nothing is heard inside. Also you do not realize that you are at the hotel until you are in the lobby. Do not judge the hotel by its exterior. Sankara was an unexpected gem in the midst of a chaotic city, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Najgeenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here in February 2012 for 4 days and was quite impressed with the hotel. In particular, the service of the staff there. The gym was 'compact' but did the job. The rooms and bathrooms where larger than expected which was plus. Room service was prompt. Overall a very good experience - one that I would gladly repeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kemi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
395 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
1,133 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing