We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great treat in the SPA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Schiphol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great treat in the SPA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Not reviewing the hotel, but the SPA facilities at the hotel.
Apart from the very nice lobby area of the hotel, the reception area of teh spa is also very welcoming. I have been there several times to enjoy a Javanese massage.
Clean, comfortoable, very well equipped, reasonably prized! Always happy when it is time a again for a treat! Spa manager very professional!

Only setback: one is not allowed to use the swiming pool, same is for hotel guests only

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Algorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Algorab,

Thank you for your review dated August 12th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet & exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your lovely compliments about our Angsana Spa.

We are also delighted to advise you that we have recently introduced day use package at our Health Club which includes personal training, steam,sauna and use of swimming pool. For more information, please contact healthclub@sankara.com

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    224
    48
    22
    19
See reviews for
52
108
50
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a great place to stay! New, clean, pristine condition...Top notch service from the greeters to the front desk, to the room attendants, to the restaurants and the lounge/patio/bar. Super friendly, helpful, courteous staff. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this world class hotel to anyone! Can't wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: They all look good...everyone in our group was happy with their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Richard T,

Thank you for your review dated August 8th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review and lovely comments.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted to note that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet and exceed your expectations.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Kenya. Stayed in Nairobi for 2 nights at Sankara. This hotel is a gem in a crazy city. My husband and I arrived late at night, but check in was quick and easy. Our bags were were taken to our room for us. The room was modern, clean, and updated. After a long flight it was a nice to fall into a cozy king size bed. Close inspection of the room shows that there are some cosmetic issues with paint, fixtures, wall paper, etc., but nothing major. The bathroom was a decent size with separate bath and walk in shower. The personnel are excellent and will go out of there way to ensure that you are happy and comfortable. The restaurants are also very good, especially Muhibbah (excellent Thai food). Artisan has a decent breakfast buffet. There is a lot of construction around the hotel, but nothing is heard inside. Also you do not realize that you are at the hotel until you are in the lobby. Do not judge the hotel by its exterior. Sankara was an unexpected gem in the midst of a chaotic city, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Najgeenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here in February 2012 for 4 days and was quite impressed with the hotel. In particular, the service of the staff there. The gym was 'compact' but did the job. The rooms and bathrooms where larger than expected which was plus. Room service was prompt. Overall a very good experience - one that I would gladly repeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kemi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in July 2012. Nice hotel,great service but the hotel is already showing serious signs of wear.Very poor operation in showers,loose fittings etc. I dont think this hotel will hold up for another 5 years without major refurbishment. I presume this is the standard of build of most Kenyan hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
301 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Friendly staff and a good restaurant; largish rooms, and small health club. Mostly business travellers, it seemed. Building work next door causes some noise and the entrance backs on to a petrol station.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David011158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent restaurant (better than the Tribe), excellent service, great location near shopping centres and night clubs, wonderful hospitality! Sankara is the place to be while in Nairobi!

Room Tip: Kindly ask the receptionist and he/she will provide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StickyLicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing