We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Luxurious and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Luxurious and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I had a great stay here on business. New hotel. Superb staff. Comfortable beds. Very spacious rooms. Good location close to Sarit shopping centre. Food in hotel good but can be a bit pricey. Nice Indian restaurant within safe walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank culturallattice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Culturallattice,

Thank you for your review dated December 1st, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    236
    52
    24
    24
See reviews for
57
112
54
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We recently stayed here-and absolutely loved it. It has a fresh modern feel with an African chic decor. It is about a 20 min ride from the international airport (without traffic) in the westlands area of nairobi. We got the deluxe room online and it was pretty spacious. The rooms are decorated really nice.Beds super comfortable, clean bathrooms. The hotel is 7 stories-the rooftop pool is a nice place to unwind and grab a drink. We were there over a weekend and many locals came in the evenings-as it turns into a lounge with a DJ. They do have free wifi. We ate a buffet breakfast which was so well worth it. Fresh breads , pastries, juices, fruits, eggs and crepes galore. The staff is very professional and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winerunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear Mastistyle,

Thank you for your review dated November 25th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver the services and standards to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to monitor and improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had an excellent stay at the Nairobi Sankara Hotel.
The service and the support in the logistic of our workshop were perfect!
The staff provides impeccable service and the hotel is equipped with a gym and a swimming pool on its roof. The hotel got a large choice of dishes: international buffet, chinese restaurant, wine bar...
We really recommand you this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWH1565464321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
28th November 2011.

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your review dated November 25th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver the services and standards to meet your expectations for the workshop. The Team at Sankara Nairobi appreciate your feedback in order for us to monitor and improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was recommended by another frequent traveler to Nairobi and I'm so glad I took her advice! Everything is clean, new and modern and the rooms were quiet and spacious. I've stayed at several other hotels in downtown, and this location is much more relaxing. There's easy access to shopping and restaurants at the Westlands "mall" across the street. The spa was also lovely, with at least one great massage therapist! As a solo female traveler, I always felt safe and comfortable here. Highly recommended for both business or pleasure travel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Rinnster,

Thank you for your review dated November 23rd, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver the services and standards to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to monitor and improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is a great boutique hotel! The staff were all very friendly and attentive. The rooms are wonderful with excellent attention to detail in the design of the rooms. Had a great meal at the Thai restaurant. And the rooftop pool is relaxing and impressive. Will definitely stay here the next time I am in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Accommodation: a business hotel with all the usual facilities. Billed as
5 star, but by international standards feels more like 4 star. Has a
great rooftop bar and pool as well as an excellent first floor wine
bar, which give character to otherwise conventional place. The rooftop
is a welcome haven from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi below.

Service: very good throughout and friendly.

Facilities: excellent pool, gym and business centre. Let down by poor
wi-fi in the rooms, which is significant for a business hotel.

Food: we only had breakfast, but was good.

Value:accommodation feels a little over priced for what you get, compared to equivalents in many other major African cities such as Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MovingHouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neelma M, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear MovingHouse1,

Thank you for your review dated November 7, 2011.

First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests in order for us to monitor and improve on the experience we offer.

We are delighted to advise you that we have currently upgraded our bandwidth for Internet to 10MB for our in-house guests which I agree is very significant to a business traveller.

We look forward to hosting you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly the next time you plan to come to Kenya.

Kind Regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

New Designer Hotel in good location. The smile you receife while checking in is the beggining of a pleasant stay in this Hotel. The rooms are comparabel with asian 5 star Hotels. Beautiful designed and well arranged. The breakfast fullfills all wishes the risk of eating too much is given. The roof terasse is perfect for a sunset cocktail, lounge music and some tappas. The gym in the last floor is well equiped and the satff is very helpful if ou want some private lessons. After a stressful day there is no better place than the spa, well trained staff gives you a hour of relief and peace!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesWingenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing