We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent, friendly, up-market and very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly, up-market and very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Our second visit. Excellent club lounge and rooms. Very friendly and efficient staff throughout the hotel. I very much liked the free and v efficient wireless. I've stayed in many hotels in Nairobi and for as long as the standards are maintained this will be our hotel of choice.

The menu is a bit up it's own bottom and needs to be a little more sympathetic and accessible.

But all in all a really good place!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    236
    52
    24
    24
See reviews for
57
112
54
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

A hidden gem of a hotel in Nairobi.We stayed here for a couple of nights to get over our jet lag and chill out before flying off on Safari.It was fantastic.Not too big,excellent staff,fab rooftop pool and very good food

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the higher up and/or executive club slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sacksn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I visit Nairobi often, but this was the first time I've stayed at the Sankara. My review may well be influenced by the fact that i was upgraded to a suite, but the room was outstanding, the service was excellent and the bar on top of the building was a great place to be on a warm Nairobi evening.

The only downside is the cost - there are certainly cheaper options in the city, but it's a great place to indulge

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealGoodStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Lovely hotel in Nairobi, completely new and in a great location, right from the pickup from the airport with a Mercedes upto the check out all very very good.

Would recommend it to anyone who comes to Nairobi. would definately stay here whenever in Nairobi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller4146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greatexpectationss
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Good if pricey, well located.

Beds overly soft - loved by some, hated by others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greatexpectationss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

So, we didn't actually stay here. My girlfriend/long lost cousin and I took the kids out for breakfast after church (we are ex-pats living in Nairobi) and got to restaurant at 11:15, 15 mins after they stopped serving breakfast. The staff were cordial but rigid that we couldn't order anything but would have to wait 45 minutes for brunch. The prospect wasn't all together appealing so we asked to see the manager . After a short discussion. he set us up in the coffee area, assigned the charming, Michael to wait on us and 15 minutes later we were tucking into well made beautifully presented dishes. The kids cleared their plate (always a good sign) and I ate most of my muesli served in a huge red wine glass with what tasted like home made yogurt. Michael was very attentive and the manager returned once to find out how we were getting on. There was a slight lapse in service between courses but on the whole the staff were warm and efficient. I questioned them closely about the muesli mix and they must have thought I was potty. However for those of us with sensitive stomachs it's important to know what's in a dish. Alas I have suffered all day from IBS and I can blame it squarely on the muesli. However as a goodwill gesture they had not charged us for it, so I won't deduct a star either for my stomach ache! It was a nice outing although being Sankara, rather pricey.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was my first time staying at the Sankara Hotel in Westlands. I have stayed in a number of hotels in Nairobi including Tribe and Serena, but this one has the best rooms by far. The rooms are larger, the beds are bigger, the bathrooms are spacious, and with satelittle tv. There is a nice poolside bar upstairs where you can have wine, cocktails, tapas, or shisha. There is a gym which is fine for cardio but could use some heavier weights. The hotel restaurant is very good and features a really good breakfast with a mix of Indian, Kenyan, and other foods. Cybercafe with several computers provided to guests with no charge. If no traffic, it is ten minutes away from the UN Regional headquarters, and a number of embassies including the U.S. Embassy. I plan to stay in this hotel during future trips to Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Property: Sankara Nairobi
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing