We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average and so noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Palace Hotel

Sandton Palace Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandton Palace Hotel
Ranked #88 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Average and so noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Sandton Palace is a 3 stars for Kenyan standards - but Kenyan standards are very, very different from European, American and most Asian standards.
Rooms are smallish and acceptably clean with basic amenities (TV, a Bible, clean towels ad sheets, soap), restaurant is OK with a good choice of local / Indian style cuisine and OK prices, staff is reasonably helpful.
Noise is however constant and 'very' noisy, either from construction works, the nearby open air church, local nightlife.
Breakfast can only be described as basic - it fills your stomach and you get some sort of coffee and dinner is in line with breakfast - simple local food with lots of spices and very filling.
I would not recommend a long stay here but it is absolutely fine for a one nights stay - and bargain hard with the price. They tend to quote ridiculous prices and it is just not worth more than 30 US$.
The areas is OK - not far form the business / shopping area of Nairobi but not exactly nice or interesting.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Our mission is to provide high quality, professional and efficient services to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. We trust that this was your experience during your stay with us.

We are glad that our restaurant met your expectations and that our staff were helpful to you. Please note our rates are standard and have been set to match with the level of our service.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed in a junior suite for two nights. It has a good view of Nairobi city and located in the city center so it was easily accessible to the different areas for shopping. Its a perfect choice for budget travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abaglobaltours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
Thank you for your feedback; we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Sandton Palace Hotel in Nairobi was the most terrible hotel we ever stayed in the last few years.
Location was bad, took us 3 hours from the airport to reach the hotel of course Nairobi traffic is partly to be blamed and the heavy rain... room was small and the bathroom even smaller so after shower the room would flood, restaurant was dark and noisy, will NOT recommend anyone.

Room Tip: Tip is never to book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DIKI W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Kindly be informed that our rooms were upgraded to meet the highest standards.
Our restaurant is well lit and our live band plays here from Wednesday to Saturdays.

It is unfortunate that there was heavy traffic and rain the day you arrived.

Kind Regards,

Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at Sandton Palace for 3 nights in early August. As with many Nairobi hotels I have stayed in, the room itself was quite small with a very basic show/toilet en-suite and the furnishings very bland and basic. For a business traveller, this might be adequate purely for accommodation but I don't think it makes the grade for a tourist hotel. The location is quite close to the city centre but hidden in a street just off Tom Mboya street which, at all times from dawn until very late at night, is heaving with matatus and local buses and crowds of waiting passengers - making it something of an ordeal to navigate the poorly maintained sidewalks.
The TV offers about 10-15 channels of watchable fare, including some DSTV sports channels but I found the advertised wireless internet connection was completely inadequate and was unable to load up Yahoo's homepage, let alone read or send emails.
The hotel has a single, slow elevator to serve all of its floors, so you can find yourself waiting several minutes to finally get up to your room.
I later moved across to another hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oyster250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Kindly note that ours is a budget hotel although we provide luxury and comfort to our customers. You have taken note of our location in the heart of Nairobi making the hotel easy to access.

Our Wifi is in good working condition and we always request customers who have a challenge to report to our Management while at the hotel so that we are able to resolve.

Our lift was upgraded and has been serving our customers well.

We hope you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,

Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala-Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On my visit this June in Nairobi, I stayed my 4 nights at Sandton Palace Hotel located in the main business hub of Nairobi City, a walkable distance to all major business amenities around Nairobi.

Their room service is perfect with Instant hot shower, Telephone, Lockable Safe, Colored TV connected to digital cable , Bottled water, their rooms are elegantly appointed with a living room

I loved staying here for all my night at Sandton Palace Hotel and will consider it as my budget preference always while in Nairobi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricanPearlSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
Thank you for your feedback and hope you have visited us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have been there twice before. The location is easy to access, though non-residents need to take caution along the street leading to it in terms of security, if on foot. Can be accessed by a cab though. I loved the receptionists, friendly, helpful.

Restaurant is great, great service, good food. Rooms are big enough, beds are huge and comfy for a single room.

Nice sliding windows.

Bathroom is clean and sizeable, with hot water throughout..Has a safe in the room, the entrance door has a safety chain.

Two lounge chairs in the single room is a plus and with a dressing table.

Just need to check the shower curtains, a bit too long, messes up the bathroom. Hotel rates are good.

I love it. Too bad I lost the photos.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Dear Stella,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

It is good that you have noted our convenient location like most of our customers, and the facilities in our rooms which make them 'above average'.

We have since dealt with the issue of the shower curtains and assure you of clean bathrooms.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is not the hotel for anyone desiring a luxury stay, but it is perfectly safe, the staff are nice, and the rooms have free wi-fi and a television, and the bedding is satisfactory. It is located on a somewhat ominous-looking street in the business section, so probably not the best choice for first time travelers to Nairobi unless you are a bit adventurous. But if you are not fussy and want a good price (I negotiated a $60 price), and you just want a bed and somewhere safe with wireless, this is a good choice. The restaurant downstairs is surprisingly good (though I was approached by a prostitute in the bar). I feel completely safe here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Dear GOfifer,

We appreciate your feedback.

Even though Sandton Palace Hotel is a budget hotel we always strive to provide luxury and comfort to our customers.

We have also put measures in place to ensure our customers' security and privacy.

We hope you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,

Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Oakwood Hotel
#60 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#116 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#72 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#82 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#62 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Palace Hotel

Property: Sandton Palace Hotel
Address: Taveta Road, off Accra Rd, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandton Palace Hotel is a 3 star hotel located in the city centre. The hotel is located in a very safe area and very quiet environment. The hotel has 105 en-suite rooms all connected with TV and Internet services. The hotel has 4 different conference halls which can accommodate a seating capacity of people between 100 to 240. The hotel has a gym with steam bath as well as sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandton Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing