We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sad and disturbing experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kibera Tours

Kibera Tours
Ranked #22 of 175 Tours in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: info@kiberatours.com.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sad and disturbing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Sad and disturbing experience

December 2012 off to Kenya and full of big expectations that went down after the visit to Kibera by the hand of Freddy our guide.
We have had a similar experience as described by manuelrauch-Baden-Baden,16th december 2011.
Weeks before our trip to Kibera we get in contact with Freddy.We were very interested in knowing the Mamá Tunzas project.
Freddy wrote us saying he had settled a meeting for us with her.
The day of our visit to Kibera arrived.We payed 52€ 2 pax to Freddy for the visit and bought a lot of things,food,hygienic kits....
to give to Mamá Tunza for their children.
We were in a very good mood but the 4 hours Freddy´s guided walk through Kibera "streets" become at first a shopping tour....the showroom of a
HIV-Support place with girls making stuff and selling it.It´s not compulsary buying but we were under pressure tu buy.
Then another showroom which had nothing to do with any humanitarian project was a handicraft workshop making accessories and souvenirs for tourists
trying to sell you stuff there,and so on....
We were worried as the time was flying over without really visiting Kibera.Well at last we were able to walk throuhg "the streets" of Kibera and seeing as the people lives.We were impressed and sad.At the end of the tour Freddy took us to "her mothers home living room",so he told us,invited to Coca Cola and
tried to sell us some T-shirts.He should not have done it as we were there not for shopping.More,he also told us that he was taking a toll of 4€ per month
to poor people living in each one of the Kibera´s huts.Incredible,humiliating and shameful!
We were all the time awaiting to meet Mamá Tunza as promised but in the end he said it was not possible.We were very astonished.He asked to give him
all the food and hygienic kits we bought for Mamá Tunzas children.We didn´t like but he said that he´ll make a photography with Mamá Tunza receiving
our present and straightaway he´ll send us the pic.
Till now,june 2013,we´ve not received that photo....So we think that our gift never reached the Mamá Tunza´s hands.
Briefly whaty a pity all that.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank tavi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    16
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Visby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everyone visiting Kenya should also visit Kibera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wild animals, beautiful scenery and all inclusive lodges are very nice indeed, but also be aware of the people living there! Really makes you appreciate your life at home and maybe you won't complain as much for a while. You will meet people making the very best of their lives helping others and making Kibera a good place to live in after all (or as good as it can be). And many of them seem to be more satisfied than your own neighbors.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StW739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very interesting, but not for faint of heart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our tour was led by Ezra, Frankie and Phillip into the largest slum in Africa. I would caution anyone taking tour to wear good hiking shoes ( definitely no open kind of footwear) and long pants. This tour takes you through tiny walkways and narrow streets that are nothing but slippery mud. There are dangers of corrugated tin sticking out houses.. I am sure that any accidental cut could expose one to tetnus and a multitude of other infections.
All that being said, it was very interesting. With no electricity or running water, and only public restroom facilities, the people were all very friendly. We never felt any danger to our security. I took a large bag of candy and passed it out to children as we walked along. I also took a suitcase of clothing, which we gave to a school. I am not sure that these clothes went to the school kids, rather than the clothing shops. But we tried.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank edholdren45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a must see/do/experience in Nairobi!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Today we went with Kiberatours (www.kiberatours.com) to Kibera, the biggest slum of Africa with 800.000 people living and working there. This is a must experience for everyone coming to Nairobi interested enough to support the poor of the city, since the fee of 25 euro per person is going to the people who live there. For this 25 euro we had a most lovely guide named Godfrey Isali who took us to a school with 70 children and to a project where woman who are hiv affected create beautifull handcraft which made nice and affordable gifts for our friends back home in the netherlands. then we walked through the amazing unpaved roads, crossed a railway and we walked to the end of this slumcity where the forest began at one side, and new high flats were rising on another side. i highly recommand this for everyone with a heart and a sense of adventure, it is not dangerous at all and also nothing to be ashamed off, the people of Kibera are very friendly and welcoming and are happy if outsiders come to see, talk and maybe buy something (no hassle like everywhere else in Nairobi!)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank mariska129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kibera Slum Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Established and run by Kibera Locals who show first hand the wealth of talent among hardworking local people driven to start up small businesses to improve their lives and the prospects of their children. This is a great tour, the guides proud and knowledgeable and the overall experience surprising, interesting and heartwarming. Opportunities to make donations and buy stuff, so take some smaller currency. Don't miss Charles and his fantastic jewellery and the Power Women - these are women who are living with HIV/AIDS who are simply inspirational. Completely safe, don't think of it as a slum but as a neighbourhood, however do wear some closed in washable shoes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TessyTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kibera Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kibera Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing