We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“L Backlund” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass

Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass
Ranked #9 of 36 Shopping in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kitengela Glass split into two separately owned glass companies 20 years ago. Anselm's glass blowing studio (with 25 years of expertise) in the planetarium dome makes blown & cast items, beads, lighting and architectural installations in an eco-friendly environment next to the Nairobi National Park. He also has a small cafe serving fresh sandwiches, coffee and juices. Alternatively Nani's company offers stained glass, rudimentary glass blowing, accommodation and animals. A visit to both companies is recommended, as they have very different ethos and products. Welcome!
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“L Backlund”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When my driver suggested a visit to the glass blowing, I thought I'd seen it all before, but OK. The long drive over the stony ground - I'd not call it a road, was dusty and interesting. Masai country, we saw nucleus of new settlements, mostly for well-to-do middle aged middle class Kenyans, traditional manyattas, a brand new mosque, rows of small country shops, and the wide open plains with herds of painfully thin cattle and goats. Not much grazing or water, but somehow they survive. Finally approaching the glassworks, the side of the road was dotted with artworks - reminded me of Lousiana in Denmark and later at the glasssworks of Parc Guell in Barcelona. Kitelenga Glass is really a place worth visiting, the products and the place itself. Me, I bought more than I should - had to be innovative as to packing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillemor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review, May 1, 2016
Hey - thanks for the visit and review, and sorry it took me so long to reply. Really appreciate it. Karibu tena. Anselm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After a wrong turn (don't ask for directions -- follow the map on the web site) we finally made it to the glass factory. It was worth the effort -- a feast for the senses -- the staff is friendly and helpful -- the artwork is AMAZING!!! The kiln is in operation during the early morning hours and if you want to see glass being blown arrive before noon.

Take time to explore the grounds, visit with the artists, and cross the bridge :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank WendyNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review, May 1, 2016
Thanks for your review - sorry it's taken me three years to respond! Still - better late than never, really appreciate the time you took to visit and write. Anselm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventspils, Latvia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“stimulating and original”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

although not easy to reach (we got briefly stuck in mud and had a long stretch of terrible road) this blast of creativity was a highlight of our Nairobi visit. It is really a theme park of playful art, with 36 artisans in various crafts taking full advantage of the freedom to dream. Probably chaotic for some people, but constantly surprising and full of goodies. Gorgeous location. Like falling into the brain of a hyperactive imaginer. Unique and cool.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank twisted?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not only are the products sold here amazing and diverse (from ash trays to ornate chandeliers), but the setting is awe-inspiring and it includes the most ornate latrine you'll ever see / use. Wander the grounds, buy some souvenirs and be sure to cross the bridge!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank margaretelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting but not worth the long and rough road”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great if you are interested in learning about glass blowing. The furnace and workshop is open for a tour and demonstrations.
However, the trip to get there is long, rough and dusty. Not sure if the area is in a very safe location as quite off the beaten track.
We visited with our children and not a good idea as breakable glass products everywhere, combined with the long drive made for a very stressful day out.
The products are lovely though and handmade. I would suggest to visit their shops instead to buy these, bear in mind they are fragile so not the best souvenirs!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank v s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for your visit and kind comments.
The last 3.5km of the trip is indeed bumpy and dusty, but we are aware of a contract issued to repair it within the next year, at least to good smooth dirt status. We have daily community police vehicle patrols, a local police post and administration police in our neighbouring village.
We are also revamping our toilet facilities (finally) to a deluxe level, and have recently completed a picnic/seating area.
With regard to children, we regularly host school trips without any mishaps (so far!).
By the way - the window glass we use to make our products is surprisingly strong, and we've successfully shipped all over the world. We'll be happy to 'export pack' whatever you like. Even the largest and most ornate chandeliers and tables can be dismantled for transport.
Warm regards, Anselm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass also viewed

 

Been to Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing